Lauren A Williams's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Journalist
  • NCTJ Magazine and Newspaper Journalism
  • From Penzance, Cornwall, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy everything, regret nothing.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 22 year old journalism grad living and working in Cornwall, UK. I work in SEO as a copywriter and linking strategist.

I am a keen snowboarder and like to think that I can surf, but I'm utterly useless.

I LOVE Cornwall, although there is so much more to see and do that the thought of staying here is too much to bear.

At 18 I left the small community that is Penzance and headed for the USA with a back-pack and a head full of dreams. I taught horseriding for 2 months in Maine, before flying to LA (and losing my luggage on the way - then it turned up at home when I still had 3 months in the States) where I then hitch-hiked back to NYC.

I then moved to Switzerland to work and play in the snow for a winter before moving to France for 12 months to enjoy the Alps in all it's glorious 4 seasons.

During my journalism degree I concentrated on travel journalism and found myself on a budget challenge: "Four Weekends, Four Destinations, £400" the concept is in the name.

I'm now trying to worm my way into the travel writing industry.

Next September my next great escape starts again - I'm heading to Tanzania to climb Kilimanjaro for a local charity (if you're feeling generous and would like to donate, please do so here http://www.justgiving.com/laurensclimbingkili) before flying to somewhere, anywhere and freelancing my way around the world.

Watch out, I'll soon be on your couch and us Cornish girls love to have a good time :D

PHILOSOPHY

"Costar tudo, remorso nada."

"Different day. Different Dream."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have run a series of features and a blog on "Four Weekends, Four Destination, £400." I will be promoting this site so hopefully a lot of traffic will come through and more people will use the site!

I have also run several promotional articles in my university magazine in the hope of getting others to join up!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Only the one so far in Beziers in the south of France. An amazing time...hopefully I'll have time when my degree is over to have more experiences!

Interests

Snowboarding, kayaking, reading, people watching, dancing, partying, travel, walking, talking, photography

  • writing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • running
  • walking
  • partying
  • flying
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • kayaking
  • snowboarding
  • freelancing
  • journalism

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sunrise at Monument Valley the morning after spending a night in an Indian Hogun,

Teach, Learn, Share

The amazing experience of sitting and watching.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Spain, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups