Leanne Harrison's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Leanne’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Traveller
  • University of Durham (UK) - Geology Degree
  • From Stockton-on-Tees, UK
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I am currently living in Norway, working in a hotel, where I do seasonal work in order to fund traveling. I've been on the road since January 2012, working for 3-4 months at a time, followed by a trip to somewhere amazing, where I proceed to spend every penny of what I just earned. I hate England, and have no desires to go home, unless for little visits. It looks like this crazy life will last many more years to come.

ABOUT ME

"A day without laughter is a day wasted" - Charlie Chaplain. I live by this quote, and believe very deeply in its meaning.

I am a very caring person, who would do anything for anyone if they needed it. I am very loyal and have lots of friends, although I really miss them. Travelling is my life and everything I do is revolved around saving and completing my next trip.

PHILOSOPHY

"Live every day as if its your last"

I want to get the most out of life, I'm not afraid to take risks and I'm very proud of myself for everything I've accomplished so far.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I joined in 2012, and after a bad experience, it was a while before I tried it again. Since then I've actually had some pretty awesome times when surfing, and I hope to continue with this good luck!

Interests

I love travel and experience cultures that most people only dream about experiencing. When travelling, I like to do as much as possible, so I love to take little day trips and see things that many people would miss.

At heart, I am a massive geek. I have a geology degree, and therefore love anything natural. I adore being in the countryside and going for walks. Wherever I am, and whatever I'm doing, I immerse myself in reading about the local history and cultural research, as I feel it enriches my experiences. I am also a keen photographer.

  • traveling
  • anthropology
  • astronomy
  • geology
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

I love all Richard Dawkins books, and anything factual. I'm much happier reading about science than novels. Brian Cox - awesome. My biggest obsession recently has been with Jared Diamond, author of Guns, Germs and Steel. It's hard to travel the world for six years and not develop a love of anthropology.

I enjoy movies of all types, apart from scary ones, as I get nightmares :(

Music - Let me be the first to tell you that I have terrible taste in music. I spend 90% of the time listening to classical or trance, and not much in between.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One amazing thing I've done...Where does one even begin with this question?
I've started and stopped, deleted and re-written this passage more times than I can imagine, and i'm still struggling to chose one.
I've seen and done a lot of amazing things over the last few years, but visiting Easter Island - the most isolated island on the planet - has to be my favourite.
Standing amongst the ancient Moai, looking out over the vast Pacific Ocean whilst contemplating the complex civilization which very recently roamed these shores is indescribably profound. Sitting there, looking out over the statues, with a bottle of Malbec, watching the sunset, is THE most perfect moment.
I am one of the lucky few people who get to visit this remote and spectacular place - my biggest accomplishment!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Fiji, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Palestine, Panama, Peru, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, New Zealand, Norway, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Leanne’s full profile. It’s free!