Lea Smith

Atlanta, GA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lea’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Tree hugger, engineer, explorer
  • No education listed
  • From Washington D.C., USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Eat the elephant one bite at a time.


I am constantly seeking opportunities to travel and live in a new part of the world. I am studying Environmental Engineering at Georgia Tech and figuring out what I want to do when I graduate. My mother is from Croatia, and I used to live there for two or three months every summer. Living in Croatia every summer is really what sparked my love to travel and to immerse myself in other cultures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I really hope that I will be able to repay the kindness and generosity that hosts have showed me to surfers visiting Atlanta. Meeting up for weekend adventures in Atlanta is best for me. Please see my couch description for more details.


I have had very positive experiences Couchsurfing. I surfed a couple times in Europe with great hosts and have used the CS community to meet up with people in cities that I have visited.


Hiking, running, fitness, and stand-up paddle boarding. I try to get out of the city on the weekends to spend some time in nature and would like to start camping. I love going out for food and drinks. The environment and how to balance preserving it with our need for natural resources. Seeking new adventures in old places. Festivals of art, music, and beer. I am a huge craft beer fan, and Atlanta is a great place for craft beer.

Music, Movies, and Books

I love soulful, gritty blues and a mean washboard player in a zydeco band, but I also can't resist a handsome country singer, sexy bachata flavor, or crazy top 40 pop star either. At the moment, Florence and the Machine, Gin Wigmore, James Blunt, Ben Harper w/ Charlie Musselwhite are top.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Every quiet moment in nature. Listening to the ocean from a secluded beach village in Costa Rica. Star gazing in the middle of the Adriatic Sea. Feeling the full moon shine while floating down the Comal River in Texas.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Croatia, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lea’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups