Lef Up's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lef’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Greek (modern); learning German
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Editor in Chief @ FELIX
  • Science Communication Msc, Biology Bsc Imperial College L...
  • From Athens
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

I'm an adventurous, responsibility avoiding adultolescent, always looking for new experiences and friends.

Travelling has become quite a surprisingly important part of my life. It started with me making short stops on my way home to Athens from London, but has spiraled out of control lately, with me taking weeks and months off at a time and just taking off randomly in various directions.

I'm addicted to the sense of freedom travelling gives me. Even if it's only temporary.

When I'm not travelling (which admittedly is most of the time), I live in London. I'm technically a biologist, who's been converted into a science communicator. I have worked behind bars, for charities, in museums, on natural history documentaries, and in publishing among other things.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm couchsurfing because even though I often travel solo, and despite telling myself I need time on my own, I always end up seeking friends and companions. And couchsurfing makes it a lot easier.

I'm pretty new at this. Only tried it once before with bad results. So I'm giving it another shot because I love the philosophy behind it and I want to be free and open to whatever the universe sends my way (whether it gently puts it in my hands or violently flings it in my face).

I find that when I travel, I'm open to things I am not necessarily always open to. Whether it's making friends, falling in love, trying new food, I turn into a yes man. And even though I'm usually very protective of my independence, when I travel I allow myself to accept help, guidance and hospitality from strangers.

Interests

I' m interested in maaaaaany things. As a former biologist/ science person I like being up to date with the recent scientific developments. If I have any free time, I like to read or draw /paint. I read a lot of comic books and scifi. I like to hike but in London I substitute hiking with a good run in the morning. If I have access to the sea I love to swim. I can snorkel and free dive for hours especially if I have an underwater camera. One of my favorite thing is pushing boundries. Which is why I love modern art and I try and visit as many modern art museums / galleries when I visit a new city.

  • arts
  • books
  • singing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • walking
  • boating
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: many many movies but generally anything that will make me cry (which is most things) || A.I. // Scott Pilgrim vs the world // Kill Bill // Melancholia // Heathers // Beetlejuice // Spirited Away // Fantasia // What dreams may come // The Pagemaster // The Animatrix // Dogtooth // Pride etc

Books: voracious reader, quite fond of my sci -fi / fantasy || The hitchhikers guide to the galaxy // Dune // One Day // IT // Sandman // Cather in the Rye // Jitterbug Perfume // Even the Cowgirls get the blues // 6 nights on the acropolis // American Gods // The Silmarilion // Do androids dream of electric sheep // The chronicles of Narnia (yes I know it's a children's' book) etc

Music: anything that will help me dream || Bonobo // Cut chemist // Flying Lotus // XX // Grimes // Bjork // Bocca // Gorillaz // Radiohead // Queens of the Stone Age // La Feme // Unknown Mortal Orchestra // Irrepressibles // Anohni // Oh Land etc

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I did the 2016 Naked Bike Ride in Lodnon . That was fun. But there's more stories than I can count really. Some good (like that timein the cinque terre I had to walk 20 minutes in a pitch black abandoned train tunnel alone, to get to a nudist beach), some bad (or that time in Napoli when I got food poisoning and almost shat myself in Pompeii). They come out after dusk.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a communicator by trade - so if there's anything you need communicating, i'm your man.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook and I can draw, and I am very good with names of plants and animals. My brain is a repository of weird facts, and when it's not distracted by shiny objects or sickly sweet smells or subtle melodies, it can do conversation quite well :) But my humor is questionable. As is my fashion sense.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Jersey, Scotland, Serbia, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Greece, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Lef’s full profile. It’s free!