Lena Szumowski's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lena’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 36, Other
  • Member since 2012
  • Social Worker
  • Master's in Social Work from the University of Vermont
  • From Worcester, MA USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet new people, travel, and learn about places from the people who actually live there.

ABOUT ME

My husband Nick and I are easy-going and we love to travel! We've been married for 4 years, and live in Burlington, Vermont. I am social worker, and I work with adults with mental illness with a history of homelessness. I love working with the adult mental health population, and will likely do so for many years to come. Nick works in web-design/development and marketing. Burlington has a really active Web/Tech community, which is great. We have two house rabbits, Wizzard and Frankenstein Juicebox. They can be little terrors but we love them.

While we love meeting new people and usually do something active every weekend, we also tend to need a fair amount of quiet down time. We are more than happy to have surfers join us on our adventures, but we also prefer guests who can spend some time exploring the area independently.

PHILOSOPHY

I live my life to enjoy every moment. I think life is beautiful, and that people are good at heart. Life is short, and what better way to spend the time we have than by making meaningful connections with others. Spend time outside every chance you get, and with the people you love. Be kind to others and the world will be kind to you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We're new to couch surfing ourselves, but are excited to give it a try, both as hosts and guests!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

A friend of ours who used to live in Burlington has hosted couch surfers, and we've spent time with some of them. She's had great experiences with couch surfing, and the people we've met through her have always been wonderful. Seems like it's about time to give it a try!

Interests

Burlington is a great place to live! We spend our time here hiking, biking and swimming. We've recently taken up running, too! We go to the farmer's market almost every weekend. Pretty much if I'm outside, I'm happy. We like to have friends over to dinner or to bbq, or to play games; we try to keep it casual.

In the winter we cross country ski, ice skate, and occasionally snowboard. We like to just take walks in the snow.

We love to travel! There are so many places we'd like to go, both abroad and in the States. There's just so much world we'd like to explore! There never seems to be enough time for traveling.

  • rabbits
  • design
  • bbq
  • exercise
  • running
  • zumba
  • technology
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • history
  • languages
  • social work

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm always reading. Some of my favorites: Augusten Burroughs, Middlesex, Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Coupland.

Movies: The Station Agent, Saint Ralph, Lost in Translation, Heartbreaker, Half Nelson, The Girl Next Door, Harry Potter...

Nick is more into music than I am, although lately I've been getting into bluegrass. He likes everything under the sun, including electronic, screamo, indie-rock, and all sorts of things.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Every place we've traveled has offered amazing experiences. My favorite moments in life are probably the quiet ones, where there's a cool breeze and all the time in the world to enjoy just being outside.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn how to speak a foreign language! I am embarrassed for all Americans, including myself, that we do not learn languages like the rest of the world. My french is incredibly so-so, and I'd love to learn to speak it better.

I can't teach you Zumba, but I could take you to a class with me! The best, most fun way to exercise, in my opinion. Nick could teach you how to fix your computer.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Italy, Jamaica, Monaco, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Lena’s full profile. It’s free!