Chelsea Lewis

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chelsea’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Communications Specialist
  • BA Anthropology, Louisiana State University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


to understand


I have a BA in Anthropology from LSU, and I work for a nonprofit science research institute as part of their science communications & outreach team.

In my spare time I knit and spin wools into yarn. I love to cook, but I'm not gourmet by any stretch of the imagination. Eclectic home-style or "your mama's cookin" would best describe my kitchen.

While in school, I wrote a thesis on the Society for Creative Anachronsim (SCA). It was an ethnographic research project, and I still participate in the SCA (all SCA and re-enactors are welcome to message me!).

My future goals include attending graduate school and traveling to SE Asia and New Zealand (for the sheep and spinning wheels and hiking, obviously).


We're all in this together.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Surfed: 3 times in Poland, plan on CSing more in the future when I travel.

Hosted: several different people several times.


cooking, traveling, knitting, spinning, soccer/futbol/footie, art & museums/galleries, live music, whiskey & craft beer

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies/directors: Wes Anderson, Pedro Almodovar, Tarantino, Coen Bros, Leon the Professional, Brazil

Books/authors: Everything is Illuminated, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, The Life of Pi, Vonnegut, Bukowski

Music: folk, underground rap & hiphop, bounce, some indie, patsy cline & other classic country singers

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

amazing is relative, and I'm not one to brag, so...

Teach, Learn, Share

If you're interested in learning any kind of fiber craft (knitting, spinning, sewing, etc), I can teach you that.

I can help with English as a second language, and I'd love to improve both my Spanish and German.

Alternatively, if you're in the SCA or are a re-enactor, I know a few people you'd probably love to talk to.

And, let's swap recipes! I'm always looking for new things to cook.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Poland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Chelsea’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups