Yan Levasseur's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 85 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Esperanto, French; learning Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Share / Learn / Garden
  • School / Street / Trial and Error
  • From Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live life. Learn to feel and live with all sorts of things.

ABOUT ME

My path in life was a great curve. I had a nice, innocent childhood. My teenage years were somewhat more difficult, as I was very unpleased by the social system and its lack of integrity. I became a bit delinquent, revolting against school and my parents. Somehow I was successful in school, and after a technical degree, I decided to continue my studies in university, feeling unsatisfied with the acquired knowledge. At that time, I left my parents' house and became autonomous. In the big city, I had many experiences: love, partys, alternative / underground living, then travel. All this time I continued searching for genuine ethics and for authentic people. My last trip proved to be a decisive moment in my life, as all my actions are in better agreement; now more than ever.

PHILOSOPHY

Overall I feel the need to make myself as confortable as I can be in any situation, without forcing myself to. This means I will also not force my view on others. Individually, my philosophy is to keep simple personal needs and act to contribute to the survival of living, which I am amazed by. I am inspired by words of wisdom by zen buddhism, the international biogenic society and many other philosophies. I belive in cooperation, peace, and the preservation of natural ressources. I believe that we should eat fresh, whole food and lead a simple, natural, creative life. I believe we should share all useful knowledge to others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couchsurfed in Costa Rica, Canada and Guatemala and it was incredible! Best discussions and best food. Simply wonderful! Also, plenty of super nice people have enjoyed our space in Montreal and in Gaspesie. It feels good to share.

Interests

Many things... One is languages. To learn more about mandarin, portuguese and esperanto, to name a few. Another interest is gardening and growing fruits (for an eventual self-sustainable homestead). I also enjoy a lot learning about nature, the ancient peoples' way of living, organic agriculture and healthy diet. I'm interested in philosophy, oriental wisdom, history and religions. I like physical activity and I try to use bicycle whenever I need transportation. I like to share people's way of living. I'm interested in alternatives that highers the quality of life.

  • ethics
  • dining
  • vegetarian
  • dieting
  • meditation
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • dumpster diving
  • homesteading
  • survival
  • music
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • buddhist
  • agriculture
  • engineering
  • history
  • languages
  • religion
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

MOVIES : So many are good. But I don't like to encourage the star industry which already have more than enough. Alternative cinema and documentaries are most appropriate.
MUSIC : Try "Godspeed you black Emperor !" music collective from Montreal, Canada. Music from the soul, strong enough for spiritual experiences! In concert it is incredible.
BOOKS : "The one-straw revolution" by Masanobu Fukuoka. All books from Edmond Bordeaux Szekely - who had great visions so early in the century. Books about permaculture and healthy food diet.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Lived self-sustainably with small communities in Costa Rica.
- Traveled across Canada hitch-hiking.
- Lived with an ancient matriarcal ethnic group (Mo Suo) in Yun Nan, China for two weeks.
- Prepared free food from dumpster diving for 3500 people at Quebec Social Forum 2007 in Montreal.
- Was vagabond in Montreal while finishing master degree in computer engineering / artificial intelligence.

Teach, Learn, Share

I WANT TO LEARN : Everything! Especially meditation techniques, plant and agriculture knowledge, and practice to speak languages.
I CAN TEACH : Principles of Permaculture, Vipassana meditation, languages (French, English, Esperanto, Spanish), how to make your own soap or alcoholic drinks, vegetarian and raw-food recipies, music jam, web programming, and much more.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Costa Rica, France, Italy, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, China

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    35 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Yan’s full profile.

My Groups