Logo orange

Lucas Hackradt

Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lucas's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Portuguese; learning German, Italian, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • Master of Migration and ICL
  • From Brasília, Brazil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Well, what to say? I'm Brazilian, lived in Belgium for one year, in the US for six months and have worked as a volunteer in Mozambique, Africa (in a pretty damn small village in the middle of nowhere). Currently I am living in Norway after spending a semester in Germany and life seems to be taking me to Belgium and the Czech Republic next. phew... yeah, settling, who cares about that, right?

I graduated in journalism some years ago and have worked in the area as an online reporter. But then that didn't really make me happy... I'm just that kind of guy that thinks that he can change the world. And well, maybe we need some more people like that in the planet!

So I started getting active and decided to get a Master's degree in something that (I believe) matters. (ps: I'm a culture freak. I'm really interested in learning about and studying intercultural relations)

pps: I'm also extremely scared of spiders. this piece of information about me is worth nothing, but I figured I'd put it here in case you're having ideas involving spiders.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

Mostly because I have had such great experiences with it before and have met so many wonderful people that I just can't leave it :p

I have surfed with some people in the US, South Africa and Europe, and all of my experiences were great. Some weird, one involving a 24 hours day awake, but nevertheless all of them were great.

Interests

I'm interested in meeting new people! But well, I'm a journalist, so I like to read a lot... get informed. and sure, I come from a big city in Brazil, so partying hard is also my stuff! ;)

ah, I also study and research Intercultural Relations, so that is also one of the reasons why I'm on CS. plus, we could talk for hours about migration if that interests you. but be prepared for a very lefty approach from my side :p

Music, Movies & Books

Some time ago, this one here started with indie music. But that doesn't exist anymore, right? Gosh, I find it so hard to keep up with the trends these days...one thing that didn't change is that I still like pop and that's still called pop! lol! I know usually those two don't go together, but let us say I like everything! ;)

as for books, I read a lot... but my favourite writer is José Saramago, from Portugal (although my fav book is Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

working with kids in the middle of nowhere in southern Mozambique. really, when you get to a school made of palm-leaves and with no places to sit at all and still see kids eager to learn... well, that's something amazing by itself.

Also surviving malaria. believe me, that IS something worth putting here...

Teach, Learn, Share

well, I'm a communicator, so anything web-related and journalism related is just my thing... I've also studied intecultural relations for 10 years, so I have a lot to say about that! and migration... haven't I answered to that already, CouchSurfing?

What I Can Share With Hosts

now this is a weird question...

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Belgium, Brazil, Germany, Mozambique, Norway, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lucas's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile