Liam Smit's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Liam’s full profile.

Overview

  • 7 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English
  • 43, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Information Technology
  • Masters Degree Science
  • From Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I enjoy the outdoors which includes quite a bit of hiking but also going to the beach or for a run.

Music moves me. That can be good or bad because some music rubs me up the wrong way. Please don't torture good music on poor speakers! :-D

I work in information technology which I think helps explain the desire for nature and the outdoors.

I'm a bit of an introvert but can talk a lot if you get me started.

I don't have the app so only get email notifications. Best not wait until the last minute to ask for accommodation because I may only see your message via email a day or two after you send it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I would enjoy having a talk over coffee or a beer. I'll even talk about coffee or beer while drinking water. ;-)
I think I can offer a lot of advice on good places to go, things to do and so on. I have been giving people advice on where to go, stay, what to see and do and sometimes even shown them around but it has been as a result of bumping into them on a hike, or visiting colleagues, and so on, instead of via couch surfing.

Interests

  • music
  • hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

This is tricky, music is mostly rock and electronic, but that is so very broad. I tend to like particular songs that sound good to me. I can listen to a song and tell you what I do or do not like about it. Sometimes I only like part of a song but not all of it.

Movies, I used to watch Hollywood movies but tuned out some years back. Everything seemed to be made to a formulae. It became a bit predicable that it got to the point where I found it more interesting to skip the first ten minutes of the movie and then have to figure it out from there. While I don't watch many movies I tend to watch foreign films now. I recently enjoyed The Challenge (2023) in Russian with subtitles.

I have read a lot of science fiction, for example., Asimov, Brin, and so on as well quite a bit of fantasy when I was younger, e.g., Eddings and Feist. These days I read a lot of non-fiction but mostly research papers and not books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I hiked the Fish river Canyon in 2021 without a tent and enjoyed some amazing star gazing from my sleeping bag. Even the shooting stars put on a regular show. What a way to fall asleep after a day of walking through a desert canyon!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can probably help you improve your English. One American visitor that I showed around told me that I "speak like a professor". Possibly some tips on, cooking, hiking, beer making, and so on. Actually, I can probably teach you a few things about a few things! Unfortunately the few things I know about might not be the few things that you are interested in! Funny how life works like that. :-D

Learning is something I do all the time even from those who are not trying to teach. I could learn some of your language, from your experiences that you share with me and even simply new perspectives that you may reveal to me.

I can only really share my time and experience with you. There is also a bed in the spare room, a washing machine and a coffee machine.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have quite a decent knowledge of things in and around Cape Town. From beaches and hiking trails to wine farms and restaurants, I know more than a few of each. Time permitting, I may even be able to show you one or two of them.

I have some stories from different times and places. Stories include "run in with the police", being in nature, getting lost and unlost. There are many more but I tend to remember them when someone mentions something related.

If you get me talking we can have epic conversations but as my mother says "it takes two to tango". ;-)

Countries I’ve Visited

England, Namibia, New Zealand, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, United States, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Liam’s full profile.