Logo orange

Will Chiapella

New York, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Will's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 37 Positive References
  • No languages listed
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Photographer? Life-liver? No wait, p...
  • preschool, elementary, jr. and sr. h...
  • From Chico, CA - the home of Sierra Nevada beer!
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

About to embark upon the adventure of a lifetime...you coming?!?

ABOUT ME

Hi
I'm Will, and I like to do a lot of things, such as photography, hiking, biking, ad nauseum. I'm a outgoing fellow, but I do tend to be kinda shy when I first meet people. I LOVE traveling, especially by bike (the only way to see the world in my opinion), and I've traveled here and there.
I'm currently staying in NYC for awhile before I move on to something else. I enjoy meeting new people and going out dancing, and exploring all 5 boroughs. And Jersey.

PHILOSOPHY

Just be a decent person. There's already too much hate and intolerance and junk going on in this world; just try to understand other people and be nice to them, or at the very least, leave them be. That' it: "Leave people be"

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I attend meetups and parties. And dancing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Back when I was still in The City (San Francisco), I was paying $500-a-month for a literal converted closet space with a slanted ceiling that I constantly knocked my head on getting in and out of bed. To make it ever more interesting, I also shared the room with my old roomie from the dorms, who was also paying $500-a-month! (I shared a room with him for about 5 years and it wasn't until I moved back to Chico and took over my friend's room that I was able to have my own place again. Hooray?). The house was literally patched together, and not very well, as there were spaces in the walls where, if you were so inclined, could stare into the neighbors' rooms (there were three main living "units," one of them being a small converted garage, which was in every respect still very much a garage; cold cement floor and drafty front door). There was also an incredible amount of mold growing throughout the house as we discovered upon moving out, and which also explained my roomie's frequent sneezing attacks. The main perks were that we had a huge back yard, with a back patio for parties and music, crabby neighbors who despised us, and a stoop! We were situated in the Outer Outer Sunset, directly across the street from the Pacific Ocean, so needless to say we became penultimate beach bums, having bonfires, sand-blown picnics, and late-night nude swimming jaunts. None of us surfed though. We loved it.
How does this relate to couchsurfing? Hold on, I'm fleshing out the details. We had many many folks coming through our little abode and crashing on our couches (and floors, patio, wherever), some welcome, some not so. It was usually the latter that stayed the longest (and conveniently never paid rent and whatnot). One frequent couch-dimpler became one of our good friends and then roomie. We all worked out how he would pay rent and util. and sleep on the living room couch and it was good. A couple months later though, I lost my job as a dog-groomer and scrambled to find temp. work and still be able to do my photography (and what the heck, maybe even pay rent), and came up with the genius(?) idea of switching "rooms" with the new guy and paying a much lower rent. It all worked out, and if there was much commotion in the living room, I had no problem sleeping out in the backyard in the cool salty air. When I _finally_ moved out for the fourth time, I was always welcome to come back to the house for a couple weeks or month and crash on the couch. We have since gone our separate ways, some of us leaving the pricey city altogether (such as yours truly). It was truly a magic place, that disheveled, moldy patchwork house we called home.

And that is that...

Interests

Photography, protophotgraphy (pinhole photography, etc.) biking, hiking, and exploring new cities and meeting interesting folk.

Music, Movies & Books

Why do you ask such tough questions? I guess anything that I happen to be interested in at the moment (seriously, I tend to be pretty fickle in this area...).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Being able to live in San Francisco. It was always a dream of mine ever since I was a kid. Amazing town. Will I ever return there? Dunno. I don't think SF will let me ($$$). There's always the rest of the world. I've also done a bit of bike touring, and now I'm (kinda) living in one of the greatest cities in the world! I feel pretty damn lucky...

Teach, Learn, Share

Didja know: the nautilus is the only creature that uses pinholes for vision. It's true!

Countries I've Visited

United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Will's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile