LILABK's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 20% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see LILABK’s full profile.

Overview

  • 40 references 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • No languages listed
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Social Work
  • Master
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Make new friends

ABOUT ME

Namaste. I am Lila from Nepal. I live in Dhapakhel Lalitpur. This place is 11 kilometer from the airport where i run a small orphanage called CHEF(Child Helping Education Fund) www.chefund.com with the objectives are to provide housing, food, clothing, education and medical care in a loving home.

If you are interested to help us and to work as a volunteer you are most welcome to visit us and help Nepalese orphans at our home. We can offer accomodation and you will share meals with us but to have a favorable experience we prefer you to stay at least for 4 nights.

You will have a good chance to learn about the Nepali culture and to meet local people. We are living in a suburb of Kathmandu so on days off you can easily get into Kathmandu for sightseeing and shopping. There are also many interesting places close to Kathmandu which you can visit. It is only 20 minutes by bus from our place to Patan and it is also possible to visit Bhaktipur city, Psasupatinatha, Bhathanatha, Swabunatha (Monkey Temple) and many other places. We can tell you about them once you get here and help you with the local transport.

More than just a couchsurfing experience, my place is to volunteer as a chance to be in touch with local people and their needs. I would like you to help the children with their homework, to play with them and to do sport or art activities with them. Helping them practice their English is very much appreciated and you could help around the house or learn how to cook Nepalese food. Also I need help to translate some emails or to update my website and online profiles for the orphanage.

In the orphanage we are 14 members and a dog. We live as a big and great family. I run the place with the help of my husband Raj and Sapana. There are 6 girls and 4 boys. The children's are between 8 and 14 years old. Also we live with my little son Liam, who is 2 years old.

Your financial and moral help is highly appreciated. You are more than welcome if you want to colaborate with us for the cost of food, maintenance of the orphanage and coverage basic needs. Also, we will certify you as a contributor or volunteer in letter of our association. Hope you will consider us to co-operate in our charity. Please, if you could come, minimum spend 5 days in a proyect, and you could buy food for childrens, or buy some material of school.

Hope to meet you soon!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

People are invited to volunteer at my orphanage. Also i like to meet new people for a drink in Kathmandu and walk around the sights with them.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted 40 people so far (people who came and volunteered at my orphanage). I have also met people in Kathmandu for a drink and to walk around the sights with them.

Interests

Social work for my charity. Meeting family and friends. When I have time I'm a Trekking Guide.

  • education
  • dining
  • running
  • drinking
  • clothing
  • teaching
  • social work
  • tourism
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Jigar

Shakira, Missy Higgins Dil ye par

Mahatma Gandhi, Atmakatha

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Himalayas.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Nepal

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see LILABK’s full profile.

My Groups