Logo orange

Lili von Geyso

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lili's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English, German, Spanish; learning French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Currently I am becoming a responsibl...
  • I completed my law degree, with a sp...
  • From Pretoria
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I wish I could travel at the moment, but alas, adulthood had to start sometime. I am buying as few things as possible that can tie me down so that I can at the drop of a hat pack my trusty old backpack and head off again.

ABOUT ME

I completed my studies a few years ago, part of which was spent studying Spanish. Once I graduated, I packed my then brand new backpack, and left home with no plan other than to send a post card once in a while. I traveled to my heart's content and made plenty couchsurfing friends I still speak to regularly. I eventually returned home and started working. And the strangest thing was that on my return I felt so very lonely despite being surrounded by the people I love most.
I still play the flute and was in an orchestra for 11 years, have my black belt in karate, raised a guide dog as volunteer work, and speak a handful of languages.

PHILOSOPHY

Everything always works out in the end, but when you're in the shit, shut up.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've stayed on a variety of 'couches', ranging from the plushest beds to the hardest floors, and loved every moment of it. I've met great people, learned to make empanadas, taught how to make a traditional African potjiekos, improved my Spanish - quite frankly, there is no other way to travel than to couchsurf. I still talk to quite a few of the people I met though couchsurfing and totally advocate it.

Interests

I love music, ranging from classical (currently I like Dvorak) to old school stuff like Led Zeppelin. I am quite fond of classical music and as my secret I love singing along to Disney soundtracks.
Gardening is also a lot of fun, although currently I only have a few pot plants for cooking purposes. But with space, I adore fruit trees and herbs.
I like art, I like reading, I like travelling. Travelling is probably my greatest passion and one I prefer sharing with strangers rather than existing friends.

Music, Movies & Books

I just finished Prince in the Mist, and left my copy in a bus station. As such, I can´t recall the author. Either way, I will read whatever I get my hands on, but Oscar Wilde is a definite favourite.
Currently, and no laughing at me, I am reading Harry Potter, in Spanish, minus a dictionary! Education all the way...
Movie-wise, I like arty-farty movies, but am usually game for anything. And superhero movies, of course.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

That surely needs be told in person.

Teach, Learn, Share

Obviously there needs to be some form of language shared, I was very surprised how one bypasses a barrier like that. Most hosts are super patient with one's broken Spanish, and normally a rule like 'one day Spanish, one day English' benefits both tremendously.

With couchsurfing, if your gut tells you not to stay, don't. It can be because they make you feel uncomfortable, or because the location is not good for your travelling requirements, or because they don't like you - just leave. But don't give up all possibly strange experiences: I've stayed in a little mud hut in Argentina, but had a fun birthday party with all the townspeople and was even interviewed by the local radio station. It started out very strange and ended up being one of my dearest experiences.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mozambique, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Lili's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile