Logo orange

Lina Collado

San Juan, Puerto Rico, Puerto Rico

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Professional Photographer
  • Columbia University, MFA, Film
  • From San Juan, PR
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Laugh, Live and Learn

ABOUT ME

Love to laugh at anything, including myself, it takes a lot for me to lose a smile. Detailed oriented but usually forgetful of where I usually put things around the house. Happy-go-lucky and can easily hold a conversation with anyone. Love nature, animals, photography and gardening. Passionate about the people, places & things I love.

Never been the type that uses gardening gloves or that stays away from places because of rain. Have two awesome, big dogs!

Whenever I go camping, I always bring my trusty travel hammock, but, if I travel out of the country & dont have it , I always seem to be searching for one until my hearts content and I can lie in one = a total zen spot for me. A favorite thing kind of deal; and would have to say I have a few of those. First one would be the ocean, second sea turtles, then hammocks, elephants and traveling.

Favorite thing to teach about wildlife photography is patience because thats when you will usually witness the most amazing things in nature.

Doesn't take much for someone to convince me or get me psyched to join a new trip. As long as I am in good company or by myself and a great adventure ahead, I'm in. Definitely have my must go to places list in my head, and avoid hesitating or "wait for the right time" attitude to make it a reality. Meeting people with the same feeling, that can share amazing traveling stories and have a laugh are an A+ in my list.

When I do dedicate time to read I usually can't put the book down; specially mysteries, spanish literature and fiction. Firm believer in giving/exchanging books after reading them, at least try my best!

Good hearted. Always think the best of people. Consider very humbling and lucky to learn and witness God's perfection in nature, to gaze an amazing wild landscape, see the goodness in others towards one another and be a part of it all.

PHILOSOPHY

Do what you love, and do it often. Wear your passion. If you don't like something, change it. Share. Life is short and I intend to constantly live it. I seek what I want with determination without putting obstacles for myself. Believe in God and in the goodness in people. I admire people who fight to make a difference in the world and achieve it; no matter how big or small or the circumstance.

Follow your own rhythm/passion. Treasure the people that inspire me & bring out the best in me. Believe in not judging people by appearances and in second chances. Don't believe in the word "normal" for myself or in general; everyone has a story.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Definitely explore Puerto Rico! Beach-mania. Dancing is a must, specially if you hit a festival (lately tons of Jazz ones every month) and out for a few drinks. Either cook or go out, but definitely try a good rice and beans Puertorrican meal. Have adventures through the main island, and 2 small islands a ferry ride away. TONS of stuff to do.

As a surfer, I will definitely try and cook for my host, if they like. Share laughs. Definitely would love the company for all the adventures which I'll try out. Would be a fantastic host!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm a newbie!

Interests

Cooking, diving, snorkeling, kayaking, surf, photographing, film, music, dancing, dogs, HAMMOCKS!, camping, hiking, sailing, travel, backpacking, gardening, beach, star gazing, teaching photography, pottery, yoga and volunteering with animals.

Music, Movies & Books

Love movies and to listen to music everyday.

Gabriel García Marquez, Isabel Allende, Ernest Hemingway, Rosario Ferré and Miguel Cervantes are my favorite authors. Don Quijote (I&II), Noticia de un Secuestro, 100 años de soledad, Swiss Family Robinson, Old man and the sea, The Sun also Rises, In the Time of Butterflies, La Fiesta del Chivo, Stones from the River, Into the Wild and The Help are my favorite novels.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Being stuck inside a traffic jam of wild elephants

Teach, Learn, Share

Even though I do it for a living, I love to teach photography to anyone (for free). Definitely can help out in the Spanish department and share stories.

Would love to be able to learn more about nature, wildlife and new books! Would love to be able to practice Italian or learn a new language.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, New Zealand, Palau, Saint Lucia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Kingdom, United States, Zimbabwe

Countries I've Lived In

Puerto Rico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile