Logo orange

Linda Du

Roma, Lazio, Italy

Maybe Accepting Guests

80% response rate · Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Linda's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English; learning French, Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Not yet!
  • Business student at Yale University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I'm a student of business at Yale University. I've been brought up a bit in Beijing, China, but mostly in England. I've done quite a bit of travelling, in Europe, Asia, Africa and the US. I acquired the nickname 'Mental Oriental' at uni, because I suppose I've got a lot of energy and like to spend it running around shouting silly things.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've surfed in the US, hosted some surfers in Cambridge (UK) and attended CS meetings in Canada and Italy. I'm unable to host for the time being as I'm super busy, but will try and make it to some CS meetings in Cambridge!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Most of the people I've met through Couchsurfing have been really wonderful people, interested to hear about my experiences and to share their own, as well as their culture. Unfortunately, there are also a huge quantity of men who try to use CS as a dating website and have negative intentions. **IF YOU ARE USING COUCHSURFING FOR THESE REASONS, PLEASE DON'T BOTHER MESSAGING ME, YOU WON'T GET A REPLY**

Interests

When I'm not being slave driven to work by my university, I'll be going out to pubs or clubs, or going to gigs. I like looking at art and painting. I am also a massive nerd and love anything tech related

Music, Movies & Books

I don't watch many movies at uni, but I spent a phase in high school where I got a LoveFilm subscription and watched at least one film every night, this was for about a year. Some of my favourites are Submarine, I've Loved You So Long, Revolutionary Road and Pot Luck.

As for music, I'm a fan of indie stuff, the stuff you'll hear on XFM, as well as well made pop (none of that generic-sounding R&B stuff for me). I tend to make a playlist on Spotify every month of what I'm listening to at the time.

My taste in books is limited as I haven't read much outside of my subject since I started uni two years ago. I read some Irvine Welsh, and tend to pick and choose books that have won the Man Booker Prize, such as The God of Small Things, Life of Pi and Midnight's Children.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Sleeping on the deck of a boat from Italy to Greece. Being woken up in the dawn and watching the sunrise.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm interested in languages, my parents are Chinese, so I'm pretty good at that, and can help anyone who's learning Chinese out with grammar and pronunciation stuff. I've also studied Spanish and French for 5 years, and would be up for attempting to practice with native speakers.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, China, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Malaysia, Morocco, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Zambia

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, China, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Linda's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile