Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Linda’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 22 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Med student and beer geek
  • too much
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find the best chicken and waffles in Calgary

ABOUT ME

I'm a brunch-aficionado, street art-explorer, craft beer-lover, and slightly soccer-obsessed. I'm fascinated by the intersection between the environment and health. I'm constantly thinking of my next trip and planning to cross off more locations from my travel bucketlist. I love exploring; meeting new people; learning about the culture, society, and politics of other places; and seeing how the locals live.

PHILOSOPHY

There are 7 days in the week and “someday” is not one of them.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sometimes I can host, depending on my roommates. If I have time I'm definitely down to explore the city with you. I'm still fairly new to Calgary and want to explore the city more. I probably have a decent list of restaurants you should try.

Please note that if you're going to request to stay with me, I prefer to host people with references and who are actually interested in seeing the city rather than just staying overnight while they wait for their flight out.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've Couchsurfed in San Sebastian, Bilbao, Oviedo, Santiago de Compostela, Madrid, Girona, and Granada. They were all such fantastic and unique experiences; I had such a great time seeing how locals live. I've also participated in CS events in Barcelona, Calgary, Buenos Aires, and Vancouver.

Interests

Hiking, football/soccer, food, painting, baking, sociocultural determinants of health, sustainability/environmentalism, craft beer, food security/urban agriculture, learning languages, and street art.

  • arts
  • culture
  • street art
  • dancing
  • capoeira
  • environment
  • dining
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • baking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • homebrewing
  • painting
  • hiking
  • soccer
  • agriculture
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Vampire Weekend, The Strokes, Devendra Banhart, Arcade Fire, Manel, Xoel Lopez, Metric, Sufjan Stevens
Books: Pretty much anything by Junot Diaz, David Foster Wallace, or Kurt Vonnegut

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching the 2010 World Cup in Ghana, skinny dipping in the Red Sea, and talking my way out of getting deported to Morocco from Girona.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach watercolour painting and some basic capoeira moves. I also work casually at a liquor store with an amazing craft beer selection so I can help you pick out the perfect beer for you and teach you about different styles of beer.
I want to improve my Spanish. I've also done homebrewing a couple of times and appreciate any tips.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can bring something delicious along and I'm a pretty decent baker. I also like helping as a sous chef and I'm really good at washing dishes. Let's share some travel stories over some wine/beer/coffee.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, China, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Linda’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups