Lindsay PR's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lindsay’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Freelance Scientist
  • PhD in fruit fly neuroscience
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

I'm a Canadian who recently moved from beautiful Vancouver to the stimulating city of Berlin for a few years. I'm enjoying exploring the arts and technology scenes in Berlin and being inspired by entrepreneurs of all types. I'm trying to establish myself as a freelance science communication expert, which I find very fun, exciting and challenging.

I'm currently trying to learn how to speak German, make science videos, write captivating stories and get involved with different types of science festivals and science museums.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think couchsurfing when you are travelling is a far better way to get to know a place and culture. Most other travellers are open-minded and accepting which is incredible :) I will try to offer my couch as often as I can in return.

I've travelled by myself, with friends, with my sister and was a family. They are all different and wonderful, though I was surprised how much I loved being on the road totally alone, you really feel the total freedom. The best things happen when you trust people, like couchsurfing. It really changes your experience.

Interests

outdoor activities, beaches, art galleries, city parks, small concerts, quirky bars, performance art, dancing all night long to good music.

  • arts
  • concerts
  • beer
  • exercise
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • biology
  • science
  • beaches
  • parks
  • art museums

Music, Movies, and Books

OKA is an Australian band that I love! But I mostly enjoy any type of funky beat to dance to or nice slow folk songs to listen to in the sun.

I can appreciate most types of music and feel that the music I like it just growing as I get older: Folk, Jazz, Didgeridoo anything, Drum and Bass, Balkan Beats. I mostly like music without lyrics unless I am focusing on the lyrics.

Music festivals are just about the best thing ever :)

My favourite book that I recommend to everyone is Sex at Dawn, an anthropologic look at human sexuality throughout history.

My favourite movie is Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Although, I'm getting more interested in quirky documentaries right now.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Been attacked by baboons in South Africa, watch out!
Swum with sharks... but apparently they weren't the human-eating kind.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm happy to teach you about ultimate frisbee, queer identity, fruit fly brains, Canadian life, Burning Man and how to clap with one hand.

I'd love to learn about local art scenes, how to make videos and how to write in a captivating way.

I can share tons of weird and wonderful stories if you want entertainment.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cuba, Ecuador, England, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Germany, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Lindsay’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups