Line Raiff's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Line’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning Polish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Traveller !
  • Archaeology and art history
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

Haha, it's been a while since last update. It always feel a bit wierd to try and write stuff, but let's try and not get too self-conscious.

After five years in the abstract and enclosed academical world, i'd like to try out more concrete stuff ; help out in meaningfull projects. I'm quite curious ; I love to meet new people, learn to know them, and learn about new stuff, languages, skills ! I enjoy taking part of serious and silly conversations, and serious and silly projects and adventures. I'd like to discover different ways to live !

I easily get enthusiastic : about sport (rock climbing, hiking, biking...), music (off all kinds), culture, being outside... I enjoy the simple and free things in life : eating, drinking, sleeping, being around people, being outside (sounds a bit like a little animal, but OK, i can live with that).

As most people on this website (obviously), I love travelling ; hitchhiking is one of my favorite ways to get anywhere. Well, for one thing, it's free (that's always a good point when you're a bit broke), but more importantly : it allows you to be spontaneous and impulsive in your journeys, and also to improvise a lot ; also it's always a interesting way to meet all kind of people, and (when your able to understand each other) to have rich conversations with them (what seem to occur less nowadays in public transportations) ; and finaly, you never know how the day will be. Each day can become an adventure or a challenge. Or, as Yotsuba says, "Today is always the most enjoyable day", and "Today was fun too". Having fun is one of my priorities.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been on Couchsurfing since 2011 ; but it never got me anywhere and I'm still a real noob a this ! The few requests i've sent didn't work out, sometimes because of bad timing (and the other times maybe because my profile wasn't the CS type ?). So, the good thing is that i'm not really expecting anything from it, but maybe it'll still get useful someday to meet interesting people while travelling, hosting and being hosted, or just meeting for a walk.

I've also never hosted anyone until now (because i've never owned my own place, and haven't been convincing enough with my roommates to instigate it). And since I'm taking this year off for travelling, i don't really have a home to share (from september 2017 to... somewhere in 2018, maybe, if my hunger for discoveries, experiences and walking around is satisfied), so, sadly, i cannot host anyone this year (well, except if we meet somewhere, i'll be glad to make some room and share my tent). But i'd like to host people, so as soon as I settle down, I'll update this !

Interests

I love a lot of really mainstream things (music, travelling, meeting people...).

But i'm also into some geeky stuff : I love tea, for instance (but like, in an almost obsessive way). I can be kind of a beer geek as well, sometimes (but still, tea comes first). I love climbing (onto rocks, trees, buildings...), even though i'm not yet as good as i'd like to become. I love music, and i'd like to make some someday : when i'm confortable with people i like to sing, and i also started to learn to play the dubble bass (in january 2017, so i'm not quite good, and sadly it's to big and heavy to take it with me !). I had kind of a good, but a bit closed-minded music education (a lot of jazz), but now i also enjoy discovering all kinds of new styles : lately, i found out I actually like some Belgian rap, and some wierd electronical music, for instance.

  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • rock climbing
  • hitchhiking
  • tea
  • learning languages
  • learning new things
  • feminism
  • making friends
  • good beer

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm not really a film enthusiast, but i enjoy a good movie sometimes ! In all kind of styles. The one i saw last year that really stood out was "Stand By Me"...

I enjoyed a lot of books. Recently, i discovered a lot of comic books thanks to my flatmate : Manu Larcenet (Blast, or Le Combat Ordinaire) ; Guy Delisle (all of his travel journals) ; or Zero Calcare, with his incredible and inspiring Kobane Calling. I'm reading Persepolis, right now, and loving it.

I like a lot of different musics ; don't feel like making a list of it now, why not talking about it directly ?

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Mh... My recent hitchhiking trip from Belgium to the Aland Islands was quite amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always happy to learn new stuff ! I don't really see myself as a teacher, but i'm glad to share, a good talk, experiences, thoughs, etc...

Other than that, if you really want for me to teach something to you in a more formal way : i could teach you some tea basics, or some flemish language, for instance ! I also love cooking for people (but i'm experimenting a lot, so... it can be surprising sometimes).

What I Can Share with Hosts

Checking each other's lifestyles and interest, chilling... Why not even travel a little together ! I'd be also glad to help if you have some on-going project (like house renovation, ...). Whatever ! Mostly, being together and enjoying it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Slovenia, Sweden, Åland Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium

Join Couchsurfing to see Line’s full profile. It’s free!