Linnea Curtiss's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Linnea’s full profile.

Overview

  • 35 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • MBA Candidate at University of Florida
  • BU Internationall Relations (undergrad)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

traveling through the summer then relocating to Dallas - sorry I can't host! We'll see if I manage to surf with all the COVID craziness!

"try to learn something about everything and everything about something." - Thomas Huxley

Currently a Masters student at University of Florida, but apparently this is what my thinking looked like before I went back to school:

Isn't it interesting that whenever we are asked to define ourselves or summarize our lives, the first information we give is our profession?

Well, I work as a Child Advocate and Educator for the Domestic Violence Crisis Center, which means half of my job is prevention (teaching kids about healthy relationships) in public schools, and half of my job is planning activities and things for kids in the Safe Houses. I also work part time at my dance studio where I dance ALOT of Salsa, which keeps me sane.

Other than working, I'm really trying to find myself as an individual in this big world of ours.

The first adjectives that come to mind when describing myself are as follows: active, enthusiastic, eccentric, passionate, adventurous, open-minded, energetic, deliberate, thoughtful, intelligent, cheeky, confident, honest, and independent.

I live a pretty balanced life- I'm a "dyanamic" character if you will. I'm a hard worker, but I also love to go out and enjoy my free time. Although I like nightlife, I also find refuge in the outdoors and love to go running and hiking. I was once able to knit, but I think that's a long lost skill.

I spent some time couchsurfing and traveling, and I really wanted to travel and meet lots of new people before settling down in the real world. Unfortunately my schedule doesn't look like its going to be very giving as far as travel at the moment, So now its my turn to host! My moment to travel will come again soon though :-)

I do a lot of random things- I love to ride my bike, but I also love to go out on the weekends. I love to go on long backpacking trips, but I also love the city life. I can pretty much adapt myself to any situation and I love to diversify my interests. I love trying new things!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

While I was vagrant, I stayed with a lot of hosts that made the world of difference in my experience. Traveling with other like-minded (or not so like minded) people really opens up opportunities and provides for an amazing diversity of experience.

I hosted while I lived in NYC, and am now mostly just on CS to meet awesome new people/travelers! I can now host in Florida!

Interests

I love too many things to list. I can have fun doing about almost anything as long as the people around me are happy, interesting, and bring cool things to the table.

  • dancing
  • education
  • running
  • nightlife
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Anything fantasy! Feel free to follow me on Goodreads. Currently reading series in the Forgotten Realms.

Movies: I love a good period piece.

Shows: I don't own a TV, so the only time I really watch is if it is on at a friends, and I am not picky. The only thing I don't like is particularly vulgar humor, such as South Park.

Music: Top 3 are Salsa, bluegrass, reggaeton (weird mixture, I know). I love to dance latin music so that sometimes takes over :) But I am pretty eclectic, I also really like rap, folk, hip-hop, and country music. I guess I'm not picky about music either?

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have traveled via foot and bus the entire perimiter of Iceland.

I also traveled around the Amazon basin for 3 weeks no plan, and $250. Made it down the Rio Napo in Ecuador, passed the border into Peru, reached the Rio Amazonas, passed into Brazil, and then traveled into Colombia. Ask me about it. It was a fascinating journey. Being the first non-native to travel to a few indigenous communities, machetes through the rainforest, staying in a petroleum company's complex, and people offering to sleep in my hammock is just a peek.

Countries I’ve Visited

Aruba, Bahamas, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, England, France, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Ecuador, Guatemala, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Linnea’s full profile.

My Groups