Lionel Trebuchon's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lionel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 173 references 153 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Spanish; learning Arabic, Chinese (Simplified)
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Data Scientist
  • Mechanical Engineering at ETH Zürich (Switzerland)
  • From Poissy, Île-de-France, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

2020: My year started much better than 2019! I like my job, I accept not being able to please everyone, and I have managed to help many people already :) . My housemate chastises me because I don't put any efforts into my Mandarin O.o . Maybe I am getting old. I also haven't taken the plane for private reasons for a year now! I will never be able to compensate for the greenhouse-enhancing traveling that I did as a first world student, but I try my best not to sink deeper in the scoreboard. Main goal: learn to persuade people who do not share my opinions.

2019: Well, haven't improved on guitar. I am now trying to satisfy my personal and job-life with my belief that we do not need many things to be happy, and that we have to limit ourselves in respect of the ecosystem on our planet, as well as of our fellow humans. I have a comfortable life, so the least I can do is share some of it. I am still keen on learning more engineering, sciences and languages. Currently on a good track for all of them I would say ;)

2017:
Would like to learn guitar. I am a Mechanical Engineering working around Zürich. I would like to continue being an excellent listener, and funny interactor. My dancing skills have decreased a bit due to big injuries to the knee. Knowledgeable about cooking, history, politics, most non-social sciences, garden life, wine.

My description from 2013:
French-European student in mechanical engineering (Mothertongue: French and German, fluent in English and Spanish)
What I will always bring: music (playlists, speakers...), something from France or Switzerland if asked for =)
What I will always provide as a host: a bed, (hopefully) good food, music, free entry to student parties...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because I like the concept of having someone over without there being too many obligations.

Interests

Enjoying cooking, smiling and playing guitar, open for sportive, political, sentimental or what's the meaning of the world discussions, as well as for a shisha night, club going, concert, rooftop chill or lake bath...

  • concerts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • music
  • guitar
  • engineering

Music, Movies, and Books

Find me on https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/44125993-lionel-trebuchon
I used to like the books by James Clavell, by Cornelia Funke, by Asimov.

My favourite book would be To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.
I generally like books about society, Thomas Piketty, Yuval Noah Harari, Michael Lewis, Ken Follet...
I very much enjoy podcasts.

My music tastes are as varied as they can be. I love dancing so...

I'm a bit shorter on the movie side. I have trouble with many movies portraying heroes, usually during war, because it feels very futile and arrogant/egocentric to me. France is not particularly good at portraying their history in an objective light, and the USA and UK (especially where the World Wars are concerned) might be even worse. Sadly. Sadly, because they dominate the industry.

I hope the "Films d'auteur" (such as "Rocky" in the US-context) will make a come-back, and also that we will get to see more movies from as of now ignored markets, such as much of Asia, Africa, and to a certain extent South America. <3 Movies like Parasites, The Eel, Tampopo, Soul Kitchen, Intouchables etc...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I used to have something listed here. But amazing things can get very personal, and people define "amazing" in various ways.

I have been very generous in my life. I am also a person who cannot be bullied.

So i guess: I've built a good and strong human being ^^

Teach, Learn, Share

Bessie Coleman (January 26, 1892 – April 30, 1926) was an American civil aviator. She was the first woman of African American descent, and the first of Native American descent, to hold a pilot license. She received this International Pilot License in Paris in 1921.

I think it is remarkable to know that such a thing as an International Pilot License already existed back then, and that people had to go such lengths so as to achieve their dreams.
It is even more remarkable that she was successful.

I can usually give bike reparation tips! Or cooking or wine buying tips ;) .

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Russian Federation, Sweden, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Hong Kong, Romania, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lionel’s full profile.

My Groups