Lisa Pollanz's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lisa’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, Dutch
  • 21, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • studying
  • High school in Austria
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Hi, my name is Lisa and I´m from Austria.
I grew up in a small village in a very rural area. My mother is Japanese and although I know way too less about Japan now, I´ve been there a couple of times when I was a kid. I think that´s where my urge to travel comes from.
When I was 16 I did an student-exchange for one year in Spain and 1 year later, after finishing high school I went to the Netherlands. I worked there as an Au-Pair for one year and now I'm studying transcultural communication in vienna.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I didn´t participate yet, but I would like to try couchsurfing in near future. Unfortunately I won´t be able to host any time soon, but as soon as I´ll have the possibility, I´d love to do so.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I met some people who did couchsurfing and I got interested in the idea. What I love about travelling is getting to know another lifestyle, another culture, a lot of new people and feel the atmosphere of a place. I also went to some Couchsurfing meetings in Amsterdam.

I didn´t try it yet, but it just seems to be a great concept and it makes you experience that the majority of the people are good people, that the world isn´t a dangerous place and that in the end, people are basically the same all over the world.

Unfortunately I can´t host at the moment because I am living in a students house in Vienna. (If someone wants to come to Carinthia though and experience the lifestyle in a tiny village with beautiful lakes and mountains and awful public transport connections though, it might be possible to arrange something.)

Anyway if you ever want to meet up for a walk in the city, a coffee or whatever just message me!

Interests

My biggest interest are languages. I love to see how a language can reflect a culture and to discover connections between different languages. It just fascinates me, so I want to study transcultural communication next year with the goal to become an interpreter.

I went abroad to Spain with an exchange organisation called AFS and I´m still volunteering for them. It´s a great way to meet amazing people and it´s beautiful to see how the exchange students integrate themselves in a different culture, find friends and become part of their hostfamily all within one year or even less of a time.

  • culture
  • dancing
  • waltz
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • traveling
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • au-pair
  • lakes
  • mountains

Teach, Learn, Share

Unfortunately I can´t teach you a lot of things, but if you are interested in learning some German I can certainly try to help you. I can tell you things about my lifestyle in Austria and would be happy to exchange some stories from travelling experiences.
I can´t teach you how to cook traditional Austrian plates (because I can´t cook them myself), but I can try to do so. Oh, but I actually know how to make a Tortilla de Patata, and some other dishes of course ;)
And - as an Austrian - obviously I can teach you how to dance waltz.

I´m eager to learn new things about your country and culture and of course yourself.
Maybe get a different point of view on some things, open my mind to new things and hopefully share some nice experiences and good conversations!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Netherlands, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Lisa’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups