Liselotte Tinel's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 97% response rate
  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Liselotte’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning Spanish
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Researcher
  • PhD in atmospheric chemistry
  • From Izegem, Flanders, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I lived in Belgium for half of my life and the rest of my life in France and have recently moved to York. And yes, I miss the light and sun still a lot! I guess I'm slightly nerdy, although that doesn't mean slightly clever, love to learn new things (can be anything from language, music to 'hard' science) but above all I try to enjoye life and I'm still very curious to see what's behind the next turn. I enjoy sport, especially if outdoors (except outdoor swimming in UK in winter! :) and recently started bouldering (still pathetically bad at it though!). Love dancing and singing but for the well-being of the people around me, I'm keeping this to myself mostly... Definitely appreciate all simple things in life; a good book, good music, good company, good drink, good food (not necessarily in that order)...
I like to think of myself as an openminded person, but maybe that's just a notion to be challenged ;)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm couchesurfing because I've never tried it before (great reason! :) It seems like an excellent way to discover new places (or rediscover old ones) and meet interesting people...

Interests

  • cooking
  • running
  • traveling
  • bouldering
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • ecology
  • science
  • kids

Music, Movies, and Books

The God of the Small things (Arundhati Roy)
Goldfinch (Donna Tart)
Le petit Prince (Saint exupery)

Listen to a lot of music but very ecclectic; from punk to classic over jazz and rock. Love Susan Vega, Janis Joplin, Paul Simon, Avishai Cohen and Nina Hagen but also so many more...

Particularly enjoyed movies from Hitchcock; Guy Ritchie (Snatch!); Emir Kusturica (Black Cat, White Cat!); Scorcese; Eastwood (Million Dollar Baby!) ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Had two kids (that's 2 things actually)
Saw the sun not setting in Antarctica

Teach, Learn, Share

Always in for learning something new or different, about life (so much to learn still!), about music, about languages, science, books etc etc I can teach some stuff as well, like French or Dutch (sure you all want to learn that world language ;)!); about how not to educate kids (haven't found the right formula there yet); about chemistry, ...
Like to cook, not always fancy but mostly tasty (well, I think...). Love to share new and old stories and experiences.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Some of my energy and optimism :P. And for the rest anything I can share!

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, China, Cyprus, India, Italy, Mauritius, Netherlands, Portugal

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Liselotte’s full profile. It’s free!