Logo orange

Lissie Dorrer

Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lissie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 12 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Dutch, Italian, Slovak, Spanish
  • 57, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Simultaneous interpreter, the projec...
  • Degree in conference interpreting, t...
  • From Obertsrot, a small village in the Black Forest in Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Go out of my comfort zone to meet a new breed of people.

ABOUT ME

Easygoing, adventurous, artistic and very hospitable. I love to mother my guests, time permitting.

PHILOSOPHY

Something I have known for a long time and which someone recently put into words for me: "Life starts where your comfort zone ends".

Getting out of my comfort zone and meeting a new breed of people is my new challenge.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the moment I am not very active on Couchsurfing as I am so busy learning Slovak in my spare time!

I am hoping to reconnect with my Couchsurfing friends in Bratislava this summer and make some new ones in other areas of Slovakia.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have lived with families and friends in the US, Italy, Brazil, England, Guatemala, France, Spain, Aussie without EVER having couchsurfed, anywhere from a few weeks to an entire year. I have hosted international people throughout my adult life, from the US, Japan, Comombia, Brazil, Nigeria, Australia, all over Europe.

Interests

My life-long passions are languages and artistic DIY! Since summer 2011 I have been doing volunteer work in Guatemala, Spain and Slovakia.

I love to play international SCRABBLE (using all the languages the players know) but rarely find others who indulge in that passion!

I love my lightblue bicycle with which I ride to work to fight old-age flab.

I adore fooling around on my son's big garden trampoline when I have children for company.

Now that my son has flown the nest, I think that my three-months' holiday per year will be divided between studying languages and volunteering abroad.

Music, Movies & Books

Books and magazines in different languages, mainly DIY, personal accounts, society under the magnifying glass. Never had much patience for the great classic novels.

I am always sourrounded by books, newspapers and dictionaries, my bed is full of them too! But never fear, I am just as happy in front of the telly or spending hours searching or watching things on the internet.

Music: Fabrizio de André, I Muvrini, Jacques Brel,Georges Moustaki, Tracy Chapman, Andrea Bocelli, Mayte Martin to name but a few.

Live music of all sorts as long as it is not deafening.

Not a great moviegoer as there is too much violence. "A beautiful mind", "Heartburn", some Spanish and German films whose titles I don't remember.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Working on building sites in San Lucas and Jocotenango near La Antigua in 2011. Rambling up the Pacaya, my first volcano ever. Swimming and climbing in the Semuc Champey cave for three hours with only hand-held candles to light our way.

Discovering the phantastic works of Gaudi in Barcelona and feeling akin to him.

Discovering that I am still in love with my job after 30 years.

Teach, Learn, Share

Happy to share my German (English, French), my artistic ideas and general enthusiasm.

Join Couchsurfing to see Lissie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile