Lizzie Dizzy's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lizzie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 44 References 32 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Teacher
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

NOT ACCEPTING GUESTS OVER SUMMER! We are moving home from Vancouver and won't be able to host anyone after April. We hope you love it here as much as we have!

My husband, Vaughn, and I lived in Vancouver for 2 years. We can't say enough wonderful things about living there, from the people who made us feel so welcome from the first day (through CS!), to the wonderful opportunities we had to see and do many incredible things while living there. That said, now we've packed up everything and are on a road trip before heading back home!

We found that couch surfing was a great way to meet people when we arrived, and love to return the favour for others. We both love traveling, camping, most forms of exercise and just about anything outdoors. This includes canyoning, hiking, skiing, cycling, netball, swimming, kick boxing and the occasional jog or run. Mostly, we enjoy trying new things and finding new ways to have fun and keep fit at the same time. Vaughn follows the F1 and more recently, hockey and enjoys watching AFL and cricket too. I, on the other hand, am more interested in curling up with a good book. Neither of us are party animals, so while we enjoy a drink or two amongst friends, don't expect us to take you out and show you Vancouver's best nightlife - we just aren't cool enough for that!

We love hearing other people's stories and experiences and learning about the world outside of our little place in it. I've been told I can talk - a lot - but I love to listen too and will chat about just about any topic.

We are animal people, fans of all creatures great and small, and at the top of the list is our handsome, crazy Finnish Lapphund (dog), Mika. I miss him incredibly (because he lives in Australia) so if you have a pet, I may annoy them to insanity with cuddles and petting. Given the opportunity, we will show you lots of photos of our giant fluffball.

In Australia, I was a teacher, well loved by many 8-10 year olds, which I like to think reflects a few good qualities - particularly patience and a big heart. I became a teacher with the intention of making the world a little better of a place by inspiring kids to want to learn, and love and care for the world and the people in it.

If you want to stay, we'd be happy to have you - but just keep in mind that we both work full time and get LOTS of requests from people wanting to stay. It may take us a few days to get back to you (keep that in mind if it's last minute!). It helps us to know why you are requesting to stay with us, rather than just messaging everyone in the hope of a free place to stay. If we aren't able to host you, good luck and happy travels :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We had some amazing people host us when we arrived in a new city and want to pay back the karma. Hoping to meet lots of travellers and swap travel stories.

Interests

  • animals
  • pets
  • dogs
  • books
  • cooking
  • baking
  • exercise
  • running
  • nightlife
  • partying
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • boxing
  • cricket
  • hockey
  • swimming
  • netball
  • teaching

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Abseiled 700m of waterfalls in a day and perhaps more amazingly, climbed back out again.

Teach, Learn, Share

Have taken Spanish lessons while travelling, and would love any chance to practise.

Am a decent cook, am happy to share any secrets! Would *love* you to share a new recipe with us, and try a new dish if you're up for cooking!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook a decent meal and even do the dishes(!). I quite enjoy cooking and baking and if you're lucky you may find some delicious baked goods at home.

We're both adults who have lived out of home for years and lived in share houses, so know how to pull our weight and be respectful of those we're living with.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Thailand, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Lizzie’s full profile. It’s free!