Hélène Cristofari's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 33% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hélène’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 24 References 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian; learning Hungarian
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • PhD student
  • Well, a decent one?
  • From Aix en Provence, France
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Try to figure out my own way through life.
And finish a PhD without forgetting that there are so many other interesting things to hear about...

ABOUT ME
I'm often rather quiet, I usually like a cup of tea and a deep talk with a few people rather than a big crazy party.
I think it's really important to try to actually understand people, beyond the first few words they say. There are always so many different possible meanings behind each word and each action.

For the rest of the description, I guess my interests say a lot about me, so see below!

PHILOSOPHY

Anything you dislike, in the world or in yourself, can be changed, if you are ready to work for it.

"Those who have the privilege to know have the duty to act" (Einstein?) I still have to put that a lot more in practice though.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I used to host and surf quite a bit, now I may start hosting again, and I'm trying to get more involved in local groups, and just hang out with other locals.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I host when I can; I've surfed in (chronologically): Austria, Texas, Louisiana, New Mexico, France, California, Colorado, Germany, Hungary, Turkey, Slovakia, and it has been awesome.

Interests

What I love most is going for a long hike, sleeping outside under the stars (because under the rain it's not that great), breathing fresh sharp air when I wake up. I really really love being outdoors.
I'm quite interested in organic farming (I'm an enthusiastic WWOOFer, for those who know about this association), backpacking, learning languages -currently working on my Hungarian, and it's going very,very slowly...
I enjoy listenning to live music, singing in choirs or just with friends, learning to dance, cooking.
I have a passion for Italy, its culture, people, landscapes and everything; I have a strong attachment to some parts of the USA; and I've started discovering central and eastern europe with fascination... that's currently an area of deep interest to me!

  • culture
  • singing
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • running
  • music
  • live music
  • classical music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • biology
  • languages
  • psychology
  • sociology
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: the Beatles, Queen, Elvis Presley, Simon and Garfunkel, Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Leonard Cohen, Dvorak, Rossini, Beethoven,Grieg, Rimsky-Korsakov, Rachmaninov, Django Reinhardt, Stephane Grapelli, the Choir of the Russian Red Army, Carlos Gardel, Astor Piazzolla, gypsy music, Alan Stivell...
Authors: Saint Exupéry, Joseph Kessel, Hemingway, Steinbeck, Tolkien, Herman Hesse, Gerald Durrell, Bill Bryson, Harper Lee, Dickens...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching moonrise on a foggy August night from a moutain refuge high in the Italian Alps. Hard to describe.
Starting the year 2011 in New Orleans with some great people.
Crossing the Kansas prairie by train at sunrise.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like listenning to people because you can usually learn from that, whatever they're saying.
I can teach you some -and would like to learn more- cooking.
I can tell you some things about biology and psychology, if you don't know anything about it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Hungary, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Hélène’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups