Jo Sprague's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 43% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jo’s full profile.


  • 15 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hungarian, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Software Engineer
  • Mostly self-education, but I also have a bachelor's degree.
  • From Akron, OH, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm an American/Hungarian nomad since 2012. Curiosity drives me: getting to know people, places and cultures. The first thing I do every day is something active: running, windsurfing, swimming, weight training, hiking, biking or something new. In the afternoons, I work as an app developer building an environmental science app. And in the evenings I'm usually in search of a spa: ice baths, hot tubs and saunas. I don't drink alcohol, but I'm always up to smoke a joint.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been on Couchsurfing for years, and it's a great place to meet new friends and fellow travelers.


I love nature, especially sun, wind, water and green plants. If I'm spending time in those kinds of environments I'm happy. Sailing and windsurfing are some of my favorite things to do, but I need more practice, I'm just a beginner. I'm an atheist, but I love spirituality for the mental health benefits. I get excited about science, human progress, innovation and sustainability. Anything related to travel, celebrating cultural diversity, and learning languages is also interesting to me. In my down time, I'm usually searching for the best saunas, ice baths or spas in the area. Tips welcome!

  • culture
  • spas
  • sauna
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • windsurfing
  • spelunking
  • camping
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • engineering
  • software
  • long-term travel
  • cultures
  • learning languages
  • exploring
  • weed
  • programming
  • caving
  • javascript
  • ecstatic dance
  • software development
  • ice bathing

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Sapiens, Factfulness, Stranger in a Strange Land, The Way of the Superior Man
Movies: The Matrix, Imitation Game, Avatar
Music: La Vela Puerca, The Black Keys, Sublime, Molotov, Maná

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I created a connection card game for having fun taboo conversations and getting to know people on a deeper level.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love sharing travel stories, and I have some wild ones! If you're interested in languages, we can practice Spanish, English or Hungarian or just talk about languages in general. I can tell you about building web apps, open source software, and digital privacy. Or I can tell you about the climate science organization I'm working with. Recently I had some experiences with Ayahuasca and Kambo that I'd love to share with you as well.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would love to hang out and have some adventures together. I can offer entertaining conversation, and I'm happy to share my life experience and advice with anyone who is curious. I'd also be happy to cook for us and clean up after, or help out in any other way in exchange for your hospitality.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Jordan, Mexico, Moldova, Netherlands, Oman, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Saint Lucia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Dominican Republic, Hungary, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jo’s full profile.

My Groups