Fotos de Louise Mill

Parcialmente Verificado

  • Pagamento Verificado
  • Telefone Não Verificado
  • Documento de identidade não verificado
  • Endereço Não Verificado

Não Aceita Hóspedes

  • Último login há almost 3 years

Registre-se no Couchsurfing para ver o perfil completo de Louise. É grátis!

Visão geral

  • 5 Referência 5 Confirmado e Positivo
  • Fluent in English
  • 47, Female
  • Membro desde 2008
  • Event Security Guard
  • HND Wildlife Conservation & Permaculture Design Certi...
  • Nenhuma cidade natal listada
  • Perfil 100% concluído

Sobre Mim

CURRENT MISSION

Working the festival season to support myself in my lovely humble flat. This involves working at various places across the country, sometimes camping on site, sometimes not, so I may need help with finding places to stay to avoid driving back and forth for hours.

I gained a Permaculture Design Certificate last year and am now slowly converting my flat's back yard into an edible communal garden. I am also studying Lantra Beekeeping Level 1 currently too, so I'm a bit of a busy bee (excuse the pun) at the moment. :)

ABOUT ME

I am much older than I look and act because I have a childlike curiosity and love to play & have fun. I have had a tenancy to be a terrible procrastinator though, so could probably have done more with my life than I have done, but working on that.

PHILOSOPHY

Fear is the greatest oppressor of development, so feel the fear and do it anyway!

Do not judge others unless you are totally free of anything to be judged about too. You will never know a man until you have walked a mile in his moccasins.

Treat others and their possessions as you would like yourself & your possessions to be treated (this applies to your outside environment and wildlife too).

We are all human and therefore all have faults and make mistakes. The best policy in life is to recognise those mistakes & try to learn from them so that it was a worthy experience.

Albert Einstein once said, “A human being is a part of the whole called by us Universe, a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feeling as something separated from the rest, a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty.”

You only have one life, so go live it and relish the memories; otherwise, you will only spend your old age regretting all those things you never did!

Por que estou no Couchsurfing?

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I started off couchsurfing in Trieste, Italy staying in Domenico's flat to keep costs down whilst travelling to Croatia on very limited funds for an unexpected music festival that a friend bought tickets for me as a thank you for helping her. I was so taken aback by Domenico's generosity and trust that I decided to host myself when I returned.

Damien, Keith & Emmett all stayed with me on separate occasions and all were lovely couchsurfers.

I couchsurfed again whilst in Malaysia and made some amazing friends there thanks to the beautiful Hezzy who looked after me and showed me a side of Malaysia that I may not have experienced without her enthusiasm and generosity. I find Couchsurfing an amazingly enriching way of learning more about the ways and cultures of countries that you would not get from staying in hotels and the lasting friendships that can form too.

I gave my house up before I went to Malaysia so I haven't been able to host much since then, but I now have a new flat so I might be able to start again when the festival season calms down a bit and I'm around more.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I started off by couch surfing in 2008 with Domenico in his flat in Trieste, North Italy. I was strapped for cash and on route to the airport, after two weeks of touring Croatia and going to the Outlook Festival in Petrcane, Croatia. Domenico was amazing. He showed me around Trieste before then giving me the keys to his flat and going to his night shift at work. I couldn't believe how he totally trusted me and let me help myself to anything he had there. Not wanting to take liberties, I hardly touched a thing, but I was blown away by his generosity all the same.

That prompted me to host a few people back in Liverpool after that and all three experiences were fantastic. All were very polite, respectful guys who were really interesting to talk to. All that ended however when I gave up my house to go on another adventure myself.

In 2010, I went to Malaysia to do a short course in the Sustainability of Tropical Heritage at UKM, Bangi. Again as money was extremely tight, I couchsurfed with two lots of people in Kuala Lumpur before the course started. The first place was strange but ok. They were very active in CSing and hosted lots of CSers, but were very busy with either working or planning their own trip to Mayanmar and I so I was left very much on my own. This felt very disconcerting and disappointing, especially as I chose the host as she was a tour guide in KL so I had hoped that she'd be more helpful in helping me to settle in and find my way around in this huge strange city. I almost felt trapped as I wanted to get shopping supplies but had no key in get back into the flat with after leaving and I was a white woman on my own in a muslim country and I felt quite scared as a result actually. Thus I found another place to stay. Hezzy was the total opposite. She was my saviour and made me feel so welcome. She helped me pick up the pieces of my broken phone that I happened to drop out the 11th floor window of the previous place whilst taking a picture before leaving & we hit it off straight away. We became such good friends in fact, we went away for a weekend to the East Coast with her boyfriend, Mother and another CSer after my course ended and insisted that I stayed with her until I flew back to England. We have remained friends ever since and she invited me to her wedding, which I found touching but wasn't able to attend unfortunately. I would love to go back to see her again one day though.

I haven't done much travelling since then and most places I've lived in since then haven't been suitable to host again, or I've been working away from home a lot, but I now have my own flat which could be suitable when I've more time on my hands.

Interesses

Sailing dinghies, yacht racing, power kiting, kite buggying, DJing, clubbing, dancing, music festivals, mountain biking, walking & barbeques on the beach or in parks. I am involved with various conservation work such as practical land management with the Merseyside & Lancashire Wildlife Trust & the British Trust for Conservation Volunteers (BTCV). I am involved in the Lancashire & North Merseyside Bat Group, Merseyside Amphibian & Reptile Group, Merseyside Mammals Group & the university’s Conservation Society. I also attend various conservation courses to develop my skills and knowledge. I am also interested in self-development, human interactions & psychology, so I sometimes attend courses, read books & watch films in relation to improving my life by eliminating negative beliefs. I am open to new spiritual beliefs, occasionally meditate. I believe in God or a higher power, but I don't go to church.

  • animals
  • wildlife
  • books
  • design
  • beauty
  • music festivals
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • environment
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • walking
  • clubbing
  • flying
  • gardening
  • yachting
  • shopping
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • camping
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • psychology
  • tourism
  • beaches
  • parks

Músicas, Filmes e Livros

I am passionate about music, have a broad range of tastes, and am always open to hear new artists or styles, so feel free to play me some of yours. I have my own vinyl & CD turntables (decks & CDJ) and have played a few clubs but nothing regular at the moment.

I mainly like electronic dance music - drum & bass, dubstep, techno, electro/tech house, old skool & UK hip-hop, but also listen to indi groups like Kings of Leon, Bloc Party, Artic Monkeys, Kasabian or old prog rock like Pink Floyd, Genesis, Stones, Jethro Tull etc. and new world music as played by the DJ Giles Peterson (I love latin american sounding funky tunes).

I love bands that can perform live like Submotion Orchestra, Red Snapper, Zero 7, Roni Size & Represents, Soulwax, Pink Floyd, Royksopp, Underworld, Pendulum, Bloc Party, Gomez, Prodigy, Morcheeba etc.

The list is too long, so just give me a play and I will say whether it's my cup of tea of not.

As for movies - well I watch them occasionally, but I can take them or leave them. Real life is much more exciting. I love nature documentaries or films but will also watch, action movies, chick flicks, comedy, sci-fi or horror. If it's good, then I'll watch it if there's nothing else to do. I don't believe in buying DVD's though as they collect dust when you've finished watching them & it's more plastic waste in the environment when they are discarded.

When I get around to reading books (which is never very often) I like wildlife & nature books, sci-fi, horror & books about personal development.

Uma Coisa Incrível que Eu Fiz

Jumping out of an aeroplane to do a parachute jump (3 times now).

Trekking up Mount Kinabalu in Sabah, Borneo for two days (it was painful but worth it).

Packing up all my worldly belongings including furniture from a two bedroom house into a storage container by the docks within less than a week and then flying off to Malaysia all on my own for 40 days with only £75, not knowing where I was going to stay when I got there or when the course I was going for finished and knowing that I was homeless when I returned. Actually, I don't know whether that was amazing or just crazy. It all came good in the end though, so the adventure was definitely amazing and well worth all the stress.

Ensine, Aprenda, Compartilhe

I studied Wildlife Conservation and so I am passionate about the environment and I am fascinated about the abundance of plants and animals that thrive on our planet. So if you would like to know more about the wildlife around Liverpool or in Britain and would like to see some nice nature places, then please ask me to show you. Bat's are my speciality, so in summer I can take you on bat walks and let you hear their ultrasound on my bat detector. In March I can take you to hear the Natterjack Toads doing their breeding calls at Ainsdale sand dunes and maybe we could see some rare Sand Lizards or native Red Squirrels over there or Formby too.

I can cook, although I would never profess to be amazing, but I am willing to share receipes. I can also teach you meditation techniques or some coping strategies to deal with anger, resentment, self loathing and negative thoughts and beliefs.

Lastly, how about having a spin on my decks and having a go at being a DJ?

O Que Posso Compartilhar com Anfitriões

Cooking, ideas, meditation techniques, yoga.

Países que Visitei

Canada, Croatia, Egypt, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Spain, Tunisia, Wales

Países em que Morei

United Kingdom

Registre-se no Couchsurfing para ver o perfil completo de Louise. É grátis!