Louis Comer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Louis’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Indonesian, Russian
  • 20, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Student
  • Economics at the University of Western Australia
  • From Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Currently I'm a student preparing for my first major solo adventure to Europe, where I'll be on exchange from September. I've been fascinated by the world since a young age and am so eager to finally be able to chip away at a small portion of everything I've ever wanted to see and do.

My family used to host exchange students back living in New Zealand, so it's felt like I've been in a Couchsurfing environment since a young age. Since moving to Western Australia, I've had the opportunity to become the exchange student myself and have thoroughly loved exploring the cultures and languages of Réunion and Malaysia in a reciprocal way.

I enjoy longboarding, but won't be bringing this overseas, so will be looking at a lot of hiking and adventure in the great outdoors! Hope we can meet up soon!

I understand I have no references yet, but if that's any trouble to anyone looking to take me on for the first time, I can give some I have on Airbnb!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I discovered Couchsurfing when looking for accommodation for singles in less-travelled areas. Once I joined and got a feel for the community, I knew I'd found something far greater than just budget accommodation, as it suits my entire travel philosophy of getting to know the place through cultural exchange and paying it forward! I've always preferred smaller group situations, where you're able to give someone your full attention and share ideas, stories and good times.

Interests

  • politics
  • economics
  • languages
  • travelling
  • linguistics
  • couchsurfing
  • longboarding

Music, Movies, and Books

Big fan of reggae and Bob Marley, although love music from all round the world and hope everyone I encounter in Europe actually enjoys Eurovision as much as I do all the way from Australia! Quite standard, but my family binged The Office, Brooklyn Nine-Nine and Seinfeld during lockdown, so if any of those are up your alley I've certainly got the context required. With other curious people on Couchsurfing, I'm sure you'd enjoy a good documentary like I do!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've been lucky enough, not once, but twice, to hike into the Cirque de Mafate on the island of Réunion. Basically, Réunion is a volcanic island and when the central peak (Piton des Neiges) collapsed, it left three craters known in French as "cirques". Two have roads, though Mafate does not and you have to hike in and stay in gîtes run by villagers descendent from runaway slaves! Can't wait to someday reach the Piton des Neiges itself!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a big thinker and would love to be an academic some day, so if you're up to share some thoughts you'll be in great company. Love learning languages too and if I could have a super power, I'm definitely the type of guy that would pick knowing all languages. Would love to talk about the bits and pieces I've picked up from Réunion, Malaysia, New Zealand and Western Australia.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'd love to take you out for dinner and leave you a big IOU for later in my life when I can return the favour! If there's anything you'd like from my end of the world, let me know before I leave! Otherwise, I'll choose you a little something, but no promises it's not Vegemite!

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Réunion, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Denmark, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Louis’s full profile.

My Groups