Louis ✅'s Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Louis’s full profile.


  • 53 references 45 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English
  • 48, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Corporate Executive / Executive Coach
  • Degrees in Commerce and Executive Coaching
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello travelers :)

My name is Louis and I am a friendly, laid back guy with a very casual lifestyle. I like to laugh, eat, socialise, sleep and enjoy life.

I know my profile sounds very direct, but it is necessary after quite a bit of hosting and just to ensure our expectations are aligned and both you and I have the best time possible. Please read my references to get an objective overview of the type of person that I am. I am very open and approachable and welcome any and all questions you may have.

I get a lot of surfing requests. If you want your request to stand out, a personal hosting request after reading my whole profile will make it stand out.

❗️NB: You are a total stranger to me and your COUCH REQUEST is my first impression of you. It is always nice and personal to use my name. I want to know (a) who you are and
(b) what common interests we have and (c) why I should host you.

I am a friendly and generous guy. You have a place to stay in the best location possible, a couch to sleep, clean bedding and towels, a great shower, WiFi and coffee.

After much experience while hosting, unfortunately the following needs to be stated clearly as it seems that freeloading is increasing lately so the following are total DEALBREAKERS for me and not in the spirit of Couchsurfing:

1: Personal hygiene. Shower often, wear clean clothes and don’t sleep in your clothes.
2: FOOD: I provide great coffee, tea and cereal or porridge in the morning - the rest is up to you to provide. To buy and cook something for me as well is a nice gesture.
3: Using my place to sleep if your online date doesn’t work out is a total dealbreaker.
4: I get a lot of visitors so my life continues as normal and I appreciate being kept up to date regarding your plans. Be spontaneous, enjoy your holiday to the max, etc, just keep me in the loop please.

I am not a nudist but if it is hot I might be in my boxers or in a t shirt only.

Don’t expect: Routine, fixed schedules, a lot of privacy as the couch is in the living room.
Expect: Conversation, spontaneity, chilling out and going to sleep later rather than earlier. I don’t get up early :)

My generosity will depend totally on you and if you embrace the spirit of ‘give and take’.

I prefer surfers who have hosted before as they understand what it is like to host and embrace the spirit of “give and take” but I’ve also had absolutely great first time surfers.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet interesting and genuine travellers.


  • dogs
  • coffee
  • languages
  • beaches
  • food
  • cultures
  • massage
  • nudist
  • unicycles

Music, Movies, and Books

MOVIES: Thrillers, Comedies, Action, Animation.

BOOKS: Thrillers, Autobiographies, Human Behavior.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hang gliding in Rio. Paragliding. Climbing Sydney Harbor Bridge. Treetop walks in Ghana. Diving in Maldives. Houseboat on Lake Kariba. Seeing the big 5. Surviving 2 near fatal car accidents.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like a balance between spending time with surfers and you doing your own thing as an independent traveler.

My apartment is very centrally located in Sea Point, very close to the beach and tourist attractions.

If partying / clubbing / drugs is your thing it is great but then I am not the host for you.

I can host for 2/3 nights for starters and if things work out and we have common interests you might be able to stay longer.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Help, respect, consideration, good manners and good company.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Cabo Verde, China, England, Ghana, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritius, Namibia, Netherlands, Nigeria, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Tanzania, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Louis’s full profile.

My Groups