Logo orange

Lowell Fleming

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lowell's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • server and coffee geek at a local co...
  • Secondary School: math, writing, phi...
  • From North Vancouver, BC
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To understand myself and others through new experiences

ABOUT ME

I graduated high school last year but didn't get swept up in the university phase like most of my school mates so since the summer I have bid my time working a few different jobs, drinking lots of coffee, and generally being bored and trying to figure what the heck I am still at home for. I play piano and sing rather loudly and out of tune in my spare time, and try to find the courage to enjoy myself outdoors even in my city's incorrigibly rainy weather.

I love to listen and talk.

PHILOSOPHY

Quality over quantity.

Analyze, reflect, investigate, and then respond with sensibility... Or, just screw it all and dive in - it's not like you can ever know anything in this life, anyway.

It's good to love.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

It's heartening to see such a large community based on sharing, learning, travelling, and in general opening to yourself up to others.

I love the idea that people looking to connect with each other can do so and make whatever they want out of it - which for me, in a nutshell, is simply having that chance to travel and sit down with someone from whatever walk of life they come from and enjoy whatever the unique situation has to offer.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

At this moment, I am almost completely a newbie to couchsurfing.

I was welcomed into a couchsurfer's home once before, and I was very humbled by my host's graciousness towards me and the friend I was with - two complete strangers. The community I stayed in, even though it was just outside my own corner of the province, had a very different culture from my city's which would have been completely inaccessible if I had been there without the local insight of my host.

Interests

coffee sushi CHOCOLATE

Skiing, hiking, board games (Scrabble, anyone?), psychology, reading newspapers left abandoned in cafes and late-night buses, classical music, piano, GLEE,

Thinking.

Music, Movies & Books

I enjoy movies that feature hipsters.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

When I was 8 or so years old, I saw the sun set over a lake in the North West Territories around 12:00am. I was with my family on a small boat, and it was one of those times where it felt fantastic to be with the people I was with and the sky seemed so unreal. It was kind of funny too because the only reason we left the cabin so late was because we had to fumigate the cabin with some sort of bug spray due to a mosquito infestation.

Teach, Learn, Share

As a hodge-podge English speaker, I speak French moderately well and truly enjoy practicing it with or teaching it to others (for the francophones out there - I appreciate the patience and help if needed! :)

I also play piano and am a huge fan of classical music, I studied piano for a good portion of my youth.

I love science and math things, but I'm not terribly well educated nor smart in those arenas. Don't expect me to know my stuff on that one there :)

Join Couchsurfing to see Lowell's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile