Lubo Kruzliak's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lubo’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 23 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, Slovak; learning German, Turkish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • student of life
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Usually travel with my girlfriend, Evka. https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/eviku

Born and raised in Slovakia, studied abroad in the USA, Germany, Czech Republic, and Turkey since I was 19.
I prefer to hitchhike and travel with a low budget. The people I meet are just amazing and that is the reason why I travel this way.

I am a hitchhiker, who's taking a break from traveling by going to school. I'm currently in my study abroad semester in Istanbul together with my girlfriend, Evka. UPDATE: Turkish adventure is over, now living with Evka in Slovakia and working on trying to get done with school. :-)

I like having fun and joke around a lot, because I want to maintain an optimistic view on life. I'm a really outgoing person, always excited to meet new people and get to know new cultures. Always open to new ideas for activities, especially outdoors. I like hiking and spending time in nature. Traveling is my passion and always get itchy feet after having been in the same place for an extended period of time.

I'm also an experimental beard grower and a juggler.

If you have some juggling tricks to teach me, I'm more than willing to learn.

I believe that once you kill your inner child, it never comes back to life. Therefore you must nurture it and let it live and express itself.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

So far, I have couchsurfed in Slovenia, Bosnia i Hercegovina, Bulgaria, Turkey, Iran and India. I have also attended a couchsurfing hiking event that lasted 2 weeks. They have all been memorable experiences and I have made many really good friends.

I have also hosted a few people through CS, but also other hospitality networks, such as Trustroots, and through travelling Facebook groups.

Interests

I am currently in my Master's studies in the field of management and economics. I do a bit of consulting and some other projects, in the summer I used to work in summer camps with children, translate and interpret (slovak-english and vice versa), and travel around visiting new and exciting places and friends. In the winter I like to do both downhill and cross-country skiing. In my free time I like to play racquetball (gotta let that energy out somehow!), explore the outdoors, watch any of the million TV shows I follow (Lost, Dexter, The Office, Parks and Recreation, Game of Thrones, Arrested Development just to mention a few) I used to do geocaching a lot, but I haven't done much of it ever since I lost my supernice GPS.

  • performing arts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • tv
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • racquetball
  • economics
  • study abroad
  • volunteering
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

A movie buff, love fantasy (go Gandalf!), sci-fi, comedies, documentaries, basically anything that can entertain or educate me.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I took part in a 2 week hiking trip through Croatia with 12 other couchsurfers. We cooked all of our meals on fire and slept in abandoned olive yards and basically anywhere we could hide. No money was spent on accommodation.

I hitchhiked from Slovakia to Iran visiting all the countries along the way. This took me almost 3.5 months and I did not stay in a single hotel or hostel. I relied only on CS and camping. I then flew over to India and spent another 3+ months traveling around and volunteering at different places. This trip was the greatest adventure of my life.

I have slept in an abandoned army bunker, a ruin of a Zoroastrian cemetery, on the roof of an abandoned house in Yazd, Iran, and in a private bay in Croatia with water so clear that you could see the bottom even with water 10m deep.

I once put on a performance that consisted of us spraying water from syranges to the tune of "time to say goodbye" and pretended it was a beautiful fountain. Ask me about the video. It sounds stupid, but the video is quite funny.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm in an extremely slow process of learning how to play the guitar, so in case you have any pointers, I'll take all of them in a heartbeat. (How do you acquire a sense of rhythm?)

I can teach you how to juggle and would like to learn some tricks, if you have some to offer.

I know how to milk a cow or a buffalo.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am a cook with intermediate proficiency in cooking, which means that I can feed you, and there is a 75% chance that you will like it. :-D

I am vegetarian, so I will most likely offer you food without meat in it. If you have different preferences, I'm completely respectful of that. :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Iran, Italy, Poland, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Germany, Slovakia, Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Lubo’s full profile. It’s free!