Lucy Harriss's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lucy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in German; learning Dutch
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2023
  • Student
  • Studying my Bachelor's
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Hi!
My name is Lucy, and I am 22 years old from Australia. I have been doing a combination of travel and abroad studies in the Netherlands since January and I'm loving it more than I could've ever imagined.

About me, I'm a history buff and love museums, walking tours, books, and the likes. I speak German and am having a go at learning Dutch. Traveling has taught me that there is so much more to learn about the world outside of Australia's borders and I'm loving meeting so many new people and hearing many different perspectives on life. I can't wait to meet some more like- minded people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Though initially hesitant, after many recommendations from friends I decided to get out of my comfort zone and join the site. Besides releasing some pressure from my student budget, one of, if not the best things about traveling so far has been getting the chance to meet diverse people who I likely wouldn't have had the chance to meet at home. Connecting with a stranger is a beautiful part of life regardless of whether you find you have common ground or none at all.

Interests

  • singing
  • board games
  • reading
  • podcasts
  • netball
  • history
  • german
  • dutch
  • walking tours
  • indoor gardening

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Gang of Youths
Movie: The Green Book
Book: Tomorrow, tomorrow, tomorrow

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of the best things I've done is be a part of the Carnaval in the Netherlands at the beginning of the Lent period. In the small town in which I studied, it was the quirkiest, most random, fun, hilarious time ever. I'll never forget it.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach some German, share some tips on houseplants, make coffees as we do in Melbourne. As for my cooking.. that's still a work in progress

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Italy, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Lucy’s full profile.