david Allen

Troy, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see david’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Artist by day, firefly by night.
  • BFA in Computer Graphics and Interactive Media
  • From Rio Piedras, PR
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Chasing my dreams in BOSTON!


Born in PR, raised in Colombia, I have traveled the Americas and speak English and Spanish fluently. I love to cook, dance, cycle, and remain physically active. And I do my best to spread those joys wherever I am.

My current mission is chasing my dreams in Boston! The two most important ones are my dreams of attending the Comparative Media Studies program at MIT and/or working as a character animator at Harmonix Music Systems.

As you might have guessed by now, I am a digital artist. I love traditional media as well and have been trying to get my hands dirtier over the past few years. One thing I like to do is sketch crawls where we go around town establishment-hopping as a group and draw any interesting subjects we find along the way.

As for my life story, I have moved around in mostly tropical climates my entire life. Born in Puerto Rico, I lived in Colombia most of my childhood while spending time in Venezuela, Florida, and Georgia where I worked on a large Pecan farm horseback riding, training hunting dogs, driving tractors, and participating in the Junior Rodeo as a Steer Wrestler.

From there, I moved up the coast and graduated high school in NJ, went to Pratt Institute for computer graphics and interactive media in NYC, then worked upstate NY making character animation for children's games, started playing bike polo, met The Yes Men, bought a house, taught myself to snowboard and play a few songs on the piano, then moved to Cleveland where there was plenty of snow, but not much more than a few icy hills to slide down. I'm actually really excited about being in MA so I can enjoy playing in the snow again if you're around this winter.

It was here in Cleveland that I read Paulo Coelho's "The Alchemist" which inspired me to, for the first time in my life, start consciously chasing my dreams... which pretty much brings you up to speed on my current mission in Boston :)

I also have been becoming more vegetarian after reading so much about how much healthier it is in terms of coronary disease and certain cancers. At this point, I only rarely eat meat -- usually fish -- and dairy.

Speaking of which, I would love to learn anything about vegetarian raw food prep and cooking you have to share. Maybe I can exchange for Salsa and/or art if you are interested. I have actually been dancing as if it were my second job lately… and I try to convince everyone I know to go with me.


Whoever has the most fun wins.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I love cooking, playing music, taking people out to dance (salsa and Latin music mostly, but always willing to learn new ones), drawing, telling stories.


Dancing, Piano, Cooking, Yoga, Sailing, Bike Polo, Futbol, Hiking, Snowboarding, Guitar, Go, Horseback Riding, all in no particular order.

Music, Movies, and Books

The Missing Piece Meets the Big O, The Alchemist, The Year of Magical Thinking, The New Games Book, The Cartoon Guide to Physics.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

5 days in the Canadian Rockies.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to share my art knowledge with anyone interested, I have some cooking skills as well, and I have been practicing yoga for years. As for interests in learning, I have been teaching myself how to play piano with the help of my friends, and am always eager to learn new instruments / dances.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Puerto Rico, United States, Venezuela

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see david’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups