Lukas Knopp's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lukas’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Romanian, Turkish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Student/Teacher
  • Currently working on Master of Arts
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Cultural studies guy, very social and slightly silly. Finished my BA in Germany two years ago, worked for two semesters at the Turkish-German university in Istanbul, studied my MA in Budapest, now in Germany to write my thesis. My program was like a mixture of politics, history and cultural studies.

Travelling and getting to know strangers is what I do. So far, I came as far as Siberia and East Timor, but I also made many voyages of different length within Europe and across Turkey. One can also go exploring and finding new people and forms of culture in the very place they live in - it's not always about the geographical distance ;)

I like to read, but I also write myself.

I also consider myself to be an independent and polite person - and well able to follow the rules in your home!

My facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lukas.knopp.9

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Currently only surfing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Lovely and hospitable people I met surfing in Russia, Poland, Ukraine, Romania, Moldavia, and Turkey!

Interests

Travelling, culture, books, history, sight-seeing, hanging out, doing sports, politics, and society. Drinking with friends.

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • theater
  • clubbing
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • sports
  • cultural studies
  • teaching
  • history
  • political science
  • social science
  • sightseeing
  • gaming
  • bars
  • different cultures
  • feminism
  • gym
  • learning
  • meeting new people
  • discovering
  • creative writing
  • talking to strangers

Music, Movies, and Books

When I was younger I used to read Pratchett and fantasy, then I switched to historical novels, by now I read what comes along. I recently began listening to any audio novel I can get my fingers on, which is a different experience. Still reading-reading, too, though.

I'm into all kinds of movies, given that they are good or I'm drunk (though I analyze movies while watching!).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Successfully managed not to die for 28 years and counting. Then again, I kinda started life on easy mode, being white, straight, male and so on.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Moldova, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Lukas’s full profile.

My Groups