Kelly Klein's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelly’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Ladakhi
  • 58, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Instructor, teacher, volunteer, archaeologist/anthropologist
  • MA in Education, BA Anthropology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

"Every day is a journey, and the journey itself is home." - Basho

My mission is to be present, not worrying about the future or past, but to make the most of each moment, each encounter, to be the best person I can be and to make the world a better place every opportunity I can. I think if there were any words for me when i die, I would be happy with "She made a difference"

ABOUT ME

Easy going, flexible, resourceful, happy, adventurous, generous, compassionate.... love to laugh, explore new landscapes and new cultures, etc...many crazy and wonderful expereinces from around the world but most touched by the little kindnesses shown to me by strangers.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE - I am a nomad at heart and like to connect with people from other backgrounds, cultures, experiences. I have made life-long friends and "family" through couchsurfing and hope to do lots more.

So far I have surfed in Bolivia, Nepal, South Africa, Spain, and Morroco and want to do lots more and meet more folks and share my expereinces too of travel and living in the Land of Lamas, In Ladakh on the Tibetan Plateau high in the Himalayas

Interests

Exploring, hiking, camping under the stars, Interacting with nature and with people of other cultures............ I also like to help with needed environmnetal or social issues wherever I can, working with kids, teaching, volunteering€¦.

At this time in my life, I am working with schools in the Himalayas of northern India and started an NGO to get volunteer teachers to come into remote monastery schools and teach young Buddhst monks and nuns.... I have been volunteering now for three years!

and if you want to travel and volunteer in amazing Ladakh northern India, or learn more about me, see: www.volunteerladakh.org

A piece I wrote about my experience in Ladakh is at http://maptia.com/kklein/stories/wide-opening-spaces-of-ladakh

  • culture
  • dining
  • meditation
  • boating
  • traveling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I love world music from so many places, old rock, folk...I love to dance and can't stop once I start!

Favorite authors is difficult, so many...
Isabel Allende
Herman Hesse
Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Coelho

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I would have to say jumping off a cliff in Ecuador and swimming for my life in 20 foot swells....long story, but basically got stranded on a cliff at high tide. Finally, after waving around my faded pink bathingsuit bottoms, a fishing boat saw me and there you go...

Teach, Learn, Share

I have taught professionally in many different arenas: homeless families, women on welfare and recently released from incarceration, elementary students in international schools in different parts of hte world, young Tibetan Buddhist monks and nuns...

My passion to to build up another in their confidence, curiosity, and compassion.

I share generosity, hospitality, Buddhist teachings, laughter, hugs, food, travel and converstaions on how we can live in better balance with this amazing earth that supports us.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share about my travles and mostly about how life is in Ladakh, an incredible land and culture that I have adopted as my home after traveling and/or living in over 50 countries as a single female. And if you are interested in Buddhisms or meditation, I would be happy to share my expiences there as well. And of course, I share my gratitude for meeting other like-minded folks and how each of you help me grow!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Guatemala, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Niger, Northern Ireland, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Togo, Turkey, United Kingdom, Virgin Islands, U.S., Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bolivia, Ecuador, Georgia, India, Nepal, Peru, Togo

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelly’s full profile. It’s free!