Lydia Troc's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lydia’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 53, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • working, travelling, playing....not neccessarily in that ...
  • by attending classes in school...both University and coll...
  • From Born in Toronto ON, grew up in ON, now residing in PG BC
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

travel the world...

ABOUT ME

Friendly out going, willing to try anything, love to travel and meet new people....adventurous!

I live in Northern Central BC and i love living here....photography and wildlife are a passion of mine, and where i will get moose and bears as my morning breakfast guests! Cant always gaurantee you will see one....and if you come in winter you definitely wont see the bears as they will be sleeping any ways!

I enjoy doing a variety of things, and really like to watch hockey...we have a local WHL hockey team hear (just one league below NHL) and i have billeted players for a few seasons...that was always fun and definitely a new experience and an insight to the lives of hockey players and the dedication it takes to play the sport - very competitive and it starts at a young age..... perhaps if you visit here we can go to a game? what else is Canada about, hockey, moose, bears..... and there are beavers near by and in the area....though i dont see them in my back yard! :)

PHILOSOPHY

live and let live....to each his own.....accept people as they are as unique special individuals....and hope they do the same

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I joined CS in 2012 and have hosted quiet a few people - its been interesting and i feel i can travel vicariously through my guests!! I love getting to meet new people and experience new things.... I am happy to take people around if it is a weekend....or after work during weekdays...or course, the dog is always happy if you want to have her accompany you!

I am starting my first adventure out in the CS world as a surfer this June....I am having fun looking at all the profiles and interesting people to meet....so many to choose from....i am excited about getting out and being able to stay more in the community and with locals as oppossed to staying in hotels and meeting more foreigners...... got to love hotels, but they do miss the cultural aspects of getting deep down into the local aspects of an area!

Well up until now, i have only offered my room and participated in local CS events in the PG area - its fun meeting new people where i live in a different way....travelling and CS brings us all together!

This June 2013, i am planning a trip to Spain/Portugal and Morocco and will explore the other side of the srufing world...... it definitely is an interesting experience and i look forward to meeting new hosts and new friends over the next couple of weeks!!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far its been great! met a lot of nice people - and everyone has been super nice and great to have.....looking forward to more in the future.

Continues to be a success...I hosted a local CS event for PG hosts....and had an opportunity to meet more people in my own home town.... Also attended another pot luck CS event and met yet even more people....its pretty fun going out to an event, where people are all connected by CS!

Interests

i like running, tavelling, photography, animals, wildlife, scuba diving, watching hockey... camping, hiking and the out doors....also like good scary movies....not slashers,....but scary!

  • animals
  • dogs
  • wildlife
  • fish
  • photography
  • breakfast
  • running
  • trivia
  • movies
  • traveling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • spelunking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • bungee jumping
  • sports
  • hockey
  • swimming

Music, Movies, and Books

I love scary movies and action and adventures.

Books - i like to read true crime, inspirational or motivational books, mystery books and ones previously read and recommended by friends.

Music - like a little bit of everything....guess Im stuck in the retro 80's if i really had to label myself

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I am so fortunate, that i have so many things in my life that have been special and just amazing!
-Scuba diving with Sharks in Rotan
-Northern lights in the NWT in February
-bungee jumping in new zealand
-can anaesthetize a fish, and get a blood sample from it
-sky diving in Ontario (not sure if that will happen again)
-caving with glow worms in New Zealand
-swimming with dolphins in Mexico
-swimming with sea lions in New Zealand
-cod jiggin in Newfoundland
...and many many more!!

Teach, Learn, Share

YES. YES and YES!!

-Love to teach what i know - sometimes i think i am full of useless trivia - did you know clown fish can change sex?
-Love to learn. What can you teach me?
-Love to share my home and all the great things BC has to offer...as i am a native from ON....i can share things from there as well....

ALWAYS got to share the love of travel and everyones unique experiences and journeys!! So far i have met a few surfers and i already feel that even though i may not be travelling myself right now, i can share in their joy and in their experience on their journies.....it made me feel as i was connecting with backpackers when i travelled across Australia..... which was a long long time ago....and definitely before the start of CS

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Greece, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Sweden, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Lydia’s full profile.

My Groups