Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maaike’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • PhD Student
  • Neuroscience
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live while you can

ABOUT ME

I just moved to Basel, Switzerland for my PhD in Neuroscience. Over the last few years I studied in Utrecht (The Netherlands), Chapel Hill (NC, USA) and at the Chinese university of Hong Kong.
I travel a lot, because I like to see and experience what's going on in the world. I like meeting new people and doing things you wouldn't or cannot do when you stay at home.
I'm an active person and like to swim, surf, hike, ride my bicycle (I'm from Holland, so who doesn't;)), dive and a lot more!
I love to dance, preferably all night long. So when you go to a club with me, you should know this, because I'm not leaving the dance floor before the club closes;)

I like learning new things. I like to learn and improve the languages I speak. Hopefully I can live abroad a couple more times (in different countries), before settling down.

PHILOSOPHY

Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery and today is a gift, that's my they call it the present!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

SInce I've joined, I've only been able to surf some couches and joined some activities. Hopefully I can host people too in the future

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

It's a great way of meeting people and the hospitality is just overwhelming!

Interests

Traveling, sports (all kinds of sport, but especially watersports), languages, outdoor activities (hiking), meeting other people, dancing, having fun and too many other things to write down...

  • dancing
  • clubbing
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • sports
  • swimming
  • history
  • languages
  • neuroscience

Music, Movies, and Books

I like informative books, mystery novels, non-fiction novels and once in a while a chickflick.
I don't really watch TV.. And the music I like depends on the situation and my mood, but when I'm in a club almost everything with a beat I can dance on is fine:D

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A 160 meter bungy jump into a gorge in Nepal and trekking in the Nepalese Himalayan!

I've been to Tibet and it's an interesting experience to go to such a restricted area where religion is so important. People are doing prostrations from their home village to Lhasa and that takes months. Really impressive!

Walked the camino Frances (pilgrimage of 850 km) to Santiago de Compostela

Teach, Learn, Share

Love to share some languages, to improve my own skills or learn a new language and in return I could share my knowledge about the languages I know.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Italy, Macedonia, Malaysia, Nepal, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Netherlands, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Maaike’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups