Mathew Smith's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 83% response rate
  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mathew’s full profile.

Overview

  • 93 references 54 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Specialist Musculoskeletal Physiotherapist
  • Australian College of Physiotherapists
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Mathew (38), Kate (33) and baby James (born March 2022).

We're passionate about travelling and the great outdoors, especially the ocean... any water sports like sailing, bodysurfing, surf lifesaving. Skiing and hiking are fun too.

Currently travelling around Australia in our campervan. Mostly self sufficient (usually no couch required) although we love meeting locals, sharing meals/ walks/ swims/ conversations. The occasional hot shower, washing machine, fresh water tap, local advice can be super helpful.

Easy going. We are always happy to share a meal or drink with a friend (or meet new ones).

We like to make the most of our luck by being optimistic, realising opportunities and trusting in other people.

Optimistic. No problems, only solutions.

Kate is a chiropractor and paramedic. Mathew is a physiotherapist.

Interests

Some favourite activities include; hiking, camping, sailing, surfing, scuba diving, swimming, skiing, fishing, paragliding, kite surfing.

  • books
  • exercise
  • walking
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • paragliding
  • swimming

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walking over recently solidified lava flows to find fresh molten lava, in Hawaii.

Scuba diving with Manta Rays, around the Similan Islands.

Paragliding in Revelstoke, BC.

Hiking in the Italian Dolomites.

Camino de Santiago (a 775km walk across Nth of Spain).

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Australia, Canada, Japan, United States

Old School Badges

  • 10 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mathew’s full profile.