Michel F.'s Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michel F.’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Italian
  • 75, Male
  • Member since 2020
  • Retired
  • Université: Business Administration (H.E.C. Montréal)
  • From Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

*** Ma langue maternelle est le FRANÇAIS! ***

L'anglais, qu'on le veuille ou non, est maintenant la lingua franca des voyageurs. Pour ceux qui préfèrent le français, j'ai ajouté des commentaires en français, plus bas. N'hésitez pas à me contacter en français!
---0-0-0-0-0-0---
I can live with a lot of things, but here are some of my preferences:

I prefer to look rather than to see.
I prefer to listen rather than to hear.
I prefer to lead (intelligently) rather than to follow (blindly).
I prefer emotions to dullness.
I prefer knowledge to opinions.
I prefer movies to television.
I prefer opera to rap.
I prefer thinking to being told.
I prefer ringette to hockey.
I prefer to start than to finish.
---0-0-0-0-0-0---
Je peux supporter beaucoup de choses, mais voici ce que je préfère:

Je préfère regarder plutôt que de voir.
Je préfère écouter plutôt que d'entendre.
Je préfère mener (intelligemment) plutôt que de suivre (aveuglément).
Je préfère l'émotion à l'ennui.
Je préfère la connaissance à l'opinion.
Je préfère les films plutôt que la télé.
Je préfère l'opéra au rap.
Je préfère réfléchir plutôt que de me faire dire quoi penser.
Je préfère la ringuette au hockey.
Je préfère commencer plutôt que de finir.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I travel, not to look at buildings or monuments or vistas; I travel to meet people of other lands and to understand their life. I like to connect with people and share their life and have them share my life.

I have the impression (I'm a newbie) that Couchsurfing can help me do that.
---0-0-0-0-0-0---
Je voyage, non pas pour voir des bâtisses ou des monuments ou des paysages; je voyage pour rencontrer des personnes d'autres contrées et pour comprendre leur vie. J'aime me lier aux gens, partager leur vie et leur faire partager la mienne.

J'ai l'impression que Couchsurfing (je suis nouveau) peut m'aider à faire ça.

Interests

  • aviation
  • technology
  • reading
  • drawing
  • music
  • opera
  • business
  • entrepreneurship
  • history
  • philosophy
  • science
  • travel
  • food
  • health
  • bicycling
  • thinking
  • humour
  • problem solving
  • reality
  • pickling
  • curious
  • the meaning of life
  • speculation
  • ringette
  • ramps (wild garlic)
  • ail des bois
  • bike share

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: boogie-woogie, jazz, r & b, organ, accordion, opera, fiddle

Movies? Fargo, The Green Mile, About Schmidt, Bridge of Spies, Forrest Gump, Nebraska, Elvis Gratton, Je suis timide mais je me soigne, The Terminal, To Be or Not To Be (1942 and 1983 versions), Nosferatu the Vampyre, Fiddler on the Roof, Little Shop of Horrors, The Sound of Music, The Notebook, Alien, District 9, Moneyball, Inglourious Basterds, Saving Private Ryan. (Did I mention Tom Hanks?)

Books: everything written by Stephen King, starting with "On Writing"

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

At 21, I received my wings as a pilot in the RCAF (Royal Canadian Air Force). At 22 I was qualified on the Voodoo (CF-101), a multi-engine supersonic fighter-interceptor. I later learned that out of 100 French-Canadian (which I am) candidates, only one would achieve this.

Here's another one, illustrating the foolishness of "planning your life": at one point, I went to work in West Africa, on a 18-month NON-RENEWABLE contract. I stayed ten years! So much for planning, eh?! Ha ha ha!
---0-0-0-0-0-0---
A l'âge de 21 ans, j'ai reçu mes ailes de pilote dans l'ARC (Aviation Royale du Canada). A l'âge de 22 ans, je me suis qualifié sur le Voodoo (CF-101), un intercepteur (bimoteur) supersonique. J'ai appris plus tard que sur 100 candidats Canadiens français (dont je suis), un seul réussissait.

En voici une autre, qui illustre bien la futilité de "planifier sa vie": à un moment donné, je suis allé travailler en Afrique de l'Ouest, avec un contrat de dix-huit mois, NON-RENOUVELABLE. J'y suis resté dix ans! Vive la planification, hein?! Ha ha ha!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach (or give advice) on: how to invest money, how to organize a personal computer, how to manage a rental property, how to prepare authentic Polish dill pickles, how to play ringette, how to harvest ramps ("wild garlic"), how to speculate. Etc.

I have started to learn italian. Not grammar, not syntax: just day to day speaking and listening. In preparation for a three-month long trip to Italy.
---0-0-0-0-0-0---
Je peux enseigner (ou donner des conseil sur): comment faire des placements, comment organiser un ordinateur personnel, comment gérer des immeubles locatifs, comment préparer d'authentiques cornichons polonais à l'ail, comment jouer à la ringuette, comment récolter de l'ail des bois, comment spéculer, etc.

Je souhaite vivement apprendre l'italien. Pas la grammaire, ni la syntaxe, mais le langage quotidien, en vue d'un voyage de trois mois en Italie à l'automne 2020.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Look: I was born in 1945 and I have had a very varied life so far. In all modesty, I have learned a lot of things. And I love to share.

I can even share my peanut butter (I NEVER travel without my peanut butter)!
---0-0-0-0-0-0---
Ecoutez: Je suis né en 1945 et j'ai eu une vie très variée. En toute humilité, j'ai appris beaucoup de choses. Et j'adore partager.

Je peux même partager mon beurre d'arachides (je ne voyage JAMAIS sans mon beurre d'arachides)!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Benin, Canada, Croatia, Côte d'Ivoire, France, Germany, Ghana, Guinea, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Guinea, Hungary

Join Couchsurfing to see Michel F.’s full profile.

My Groups