Maaike Kalkhoven's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 38% response rate
  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maaike’s full profile.


  • 8 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning German, Sign Language - Dutch (NGT)
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2019
  • No occupation listed
  • Academy of modern art and design Arnhem
  • From Rotterdam, South Holland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi I’m Maaike, 22🙋🏼‍♀️
I’m an artist living on a boat in Rotterdam.
My art studio is on the other side of the centre of Rotterdam. Here I work and organise creative events.
When i have some free time, I like to make little trips around Europe. Taking the train or bus to seek adventures.
Go to contemporary art museums, wondering around in nature and getting lost in cities.

I live in the city centre of Rotterdam on a boat with 3 boatmates.
I can show you around in the city and bring you to all the good places and parties.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to meet new people. Share cultures and having conversations.
For me traveling is not about visiting all the hotspots you see on Google.
For me traveling is trying new things, meet new friends and experience the local life.
The best way of traveling is to travel with strangers who will become friends.


Art is my biggest interest.

Hanging out with my friends, longboarding, snowboarding, making music, swimming in open water, vegan/vegetarian food and good conversations. 🌎

  • photography
  • dancing
  • vegetarian
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • philosophy
  • ukulele
  • nature
  • meeting new people
  • ceramics
  • swiming
  • hanging out with friends
  • making art

Music, Movies, and Books

The Alchimist by Paulo Coelho!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Loving the planet 🌍✌️

Teach, Learn, Share

Saying myself, I am a pretty good vegetarian cook 👩‍🍳😉 🌱
And I would like to teach you some of my vegetarian recipes.
I can teach you some Dutch words if you teach me some words in your language.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm living on a boat in the centre of Rotterdam together with 3 boat mates. You can sleep on our couch.
We can cook dinner and have breakfast/lunch.
I can show you around in the Netherlands and show you the local life.
And have a lot of fun🌞

If your hosting me, I can share stories, thoughts, Dutch culture and positive energies ⚡️

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Maaike’s full profile.