Maali Käbin's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 20% response rate
  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maali’s full profile.

Overview

  • 68 references 36 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Estonian, Finnish; learning French, Russian, Spanish
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • statistics geek
  • psychology, horticulture, electrical engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am an overgrown Pippi Longstocking with dreams of hippie vans and nomad life or tiny houses in the woods or growing vegetables everywhere.

These days I also go to work (9-5), which means I cannot do anything anytime, but I can do some things during my free time. I am also not very fast at replying to couch requests, so if you are very young and in a hurry, you should probably try to find a place with someone else.

I'm a night person - not meaning that I like nightclubs, but my brain definitely works better late at night than in the mornings. Coffee helps. If you're interested, ask me about community gardens and gay parties, and I can show you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To make the world better one couch at the time.

CouchSurfing and Hospitalityclub have made possible many trips, I have met really wonderful people through CS, and experienced an array of various modes of living. It has helped me believe in human kindness.

Interests

graveyard tourism, imaginary and real gardening, permaculture, playing guitar & bowed harp, folk dances, painting, reading books usually shelved under 'general fiction' or 'horticulture'. I used to collect songs called "Gloomy Sunday" and other depressing things.

  • books
  • dancing
  • coffee
  • gardening
  • boating
  • reading
  • painting
  • guitar
  • rock climbing
  • psychology
  • hitchhiking
  • horticulture

Music, Movies, and Books

As to music, I'm into folk rock and ethnic music of different countries. I play strange instruments in a folk-rock band.

Books... Jeanette Winterson, Margaret Atwood, Kate Bornstein, Oliver Sacks, Sheri S. Tepper.

As to movies, I like films in which people don't die. Unfortunately that doesn't leave me with too many. 20 years without a TV set and proud!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I don't have stories of the Big Amazing - nothing exceptional, nothing 'near-death-but-still-alive', nothing 'never-seen-before'. I have stories of the everyday, common amazing - things it takes time to notice. Things you have to find time for. Hitchhiking on a divers' boat and a motorcycle in Portugal. Climbing graveyard fences at night. Spending a whole day in a bog in complete silence. A ride on the back of a bicycle through Utrecht in Holland. A midnight walk on ruta de don Quijote in Toledo, unable to see in front of my feet. Staying up all night to learn a tune on a new instrument. Going out only when it's raining heavily.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach you the basics of playing bowed harp. I can also share my knowledge of clinical and biological psychology. I want to learn traditional tunes of other countries and know more about plants and gardening.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 8 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Maali’s full profile.

My Groups