Maarten K's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 81% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maarten’s full profile.

Overview

  • 110 references 94 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, Low German, Spanish
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • TV Researcher
  • Communication Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I think that I could say that I am a positive outgoing happy (gay) Belgian guy.

When I look at my life there's no reason to complain: I have a superfun job, a lot of great friends, a cool apartement, a lovely family and a good health.

My place is not that big, so I prefer to host one couchsurfer at the time. It also makes it easier to connect I guess.

For me couchsurfing is not a free hostal, but a way to get to know fun and interesting people from all over the world, and learn something.

That's why I only accept guests when I have time to spend with them: to chat, to eat together, to show around and/or (quiet important) to dance and drink! :-)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Caus there are always stories to listen to and stories to tell.

Life doesn't Always have to be about working or living on routine.
Having a couchsurfer at home is for me (often) refreshing and energising and is often a learning experience.

I learnt some things about places and people that I never heard of before.

I've been and will be working hard this year so I don't have too much time to travel but with CS I can invite a bit of the world at my place so that makes up for it.

Interests

Going out, meet new people, spend time with my friends. Basicly: enjoying life. Also into modern art and exciting novels. And of course good gossip and great food.

Music, Movies, and Books

Let's say a mix of everything. I like to discover new stuff. But if you would ask my friends, they would probably say I have a very commercial taste.
Love pop music, from David Guetta to Lady Gaga to Justin to Kylie to Robbie, but I also do love the old sound of Burt Bacherach songs or Motown music.
Not so much a movie watcher because sitting down quietly for more than an hour isn't easy for me.
And I love to read but don't make enough time for it. I know, it's a scandal.
What I do read a lot are newssites and papers, to keep up with what happens in our crazy world with a passion for world and national politics.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My erasmus year in Madrid was such a wild ride...

Teach, Learn, Share

My basic life philosophy is that everybody should live their life the way they want to.
I know there are still a lot of places where this is easier said than done.
But luckily in Belgium you can be whoever you are.

I am a out gay guy and live the life I always wanted to live.
When I go out, it's often in the gay area of the town. You will be always be invited to tag online if you want to. Don't worry, nobody's gonna bite you. :-)

I'm not religious but respect people who do believe, as long as there's mutual respect.

Till here the serious stuff, now back to the fun part.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A couch, and some fun company.
When I have the time, I'll be glad to join you in your town discovery.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Netherlands, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Maarten’s full profile.

My Groups