Wants to Meet Up

  • 70% response rate
  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maarten’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 49 References 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Co-founder & CTO at Copypants, Inc.
  • Yes.
  • From Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I wanted to share some exciting news, and also shamelessly ask for your help

Six months ago I founded Copypants together with my awesome friend, and now business partner Chris. Our goal is to give creators peace of mind by providing them with the tools to better understand, control and monetize how their works are being used online.

Today, Copypants made it to the semi-finalist round of the Ford Fusion Startup Lab and we need everyone's help (read: votes) to us get to the next round!

Please go to this site and click 'Vote' underneath 'Copypants':

You'll also get to watch a funny video of Chris, Tien, Eric, Brian and me explaining how Copypants is going to change the world. There might also be some ukulele music and stuffed-tiger-petting involved...

We would also be incredibly grateful if you could share this like crazy on your social networks.

Thanks so much!!




Discovering self-compassion and living every day with an open heart and a genuine smile and helping others to do the same.


I was born in Austria on a cold day in January 1982 to Dutch parents. Six months later they moved to Germany where we lived for 5 years. Then we moved to Japan and lived the glorious expat life for 5 years. After that we moved back to Germany (a different part this time). We stayed in Germany for quite some time albeit in different places. After a dozen or so years my parents decided to emigrate to Canada. This time (maybe to spite them) I didn't move along; I moved to Africa instead.
Two years, and many experiences later, I joined them on Canadian soil. A decade later, and I'm still here,

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love travelling and meeting new people. This site is such a great concept, as it allows you to combine both in a unique manner.


Cooking, eating, drinking, Tai Chi, tech gadgets, meditation, board games, card games, yoga, reading, acoustic guitar, ukulele, swimming, sleeping, riding my awesome electric bicycle through the city, cuddling, and - most importantly - coffee!

  • cooking
  • coffee
  • desserts
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • drinking
  • technology
  • news
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • scuba diving
  • swimming
  • business

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Road trip from Cape Town to the Etosha park in Namibia; Bungy jumping from the Blaukrans bridge in South Africa; scuba diving in Egypt;

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn new things and I'm an eager student.
In exchange, I can teach you the 108 moves of the Tai Chi set.
I'm also a passionate (gluten-free) cook and I love making raw desserts.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Costa Rica, Egypt, Mexico, Portugal, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, Japan, South Africa

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Maarten’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups