Logo orange

Victor Leroy

Lyon, Rhone-Alpes, France

Accepting Guests

57% response rate · Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Victor's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 43 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Italian
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Law Student
  • Yes please !
  • From Paris baby !
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Make planet earth a cooler place !

ABOUT ME

ATTENTION : THE COUCH IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR LA FETE DES LUMIERES, PLEASE NO COUCHREQUESTS FOR THIS EVENT

Don't really know what to put in that box but I'll try something !

I am a Law student (studying for the 6th and final year, FINALLY !). I live in Lyon in the awesome neighborhood of La Croix Rousse with my girlfriend (https://www.couchsurfing.org/people/caroalmarita/)

Music is my biggest hobby. I do think that a life without music would be very sad, I am a big fan of The Beatles (I am very deeply affected by a virus called Beatlemania). I can't cure it but to feel better I must listen to them at least an hour a day, best medicine ever right ?). Also a big fan of Paul McCartney, Billy Joel, Elton John, Pink Floyd.... I also play the guitar and try to write some songs...

I really LOVE travelling, we live in a such wonderful world, I cannot imagine spending my life sat on my couch watching TV. I'm quite talkative, I get along with everyone. I love cooking for my hosts or for my guests. I like going out but I guess I prefer to stay home, talking about deep philosophical questions or less serious matters as well with a good bottle of wine.

For 2 years now I've been thinking about making a world tour and I'll do everything that I can to make this dream come true. I'll probably do that within 2 and a half years otherwise I won't have time to do it and I think I'd regret it all my life.

Last thing, I'm allergic to gluten and vegan most of the time but I usually make some exceptions when I'm travelling to discover non-vegetarian local food !

PHILOSOPHY

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." Mark Twain

"If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine, it is lethal." Paulo Coelho

"Certainly, travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living." Miriam Beard

I am a rather optimistic person, try to smile as much as I can, bring joy to the people who are lucky enough to have me among their friends (kidding). A lifetime won't be enough to meet the 6 billion inhabitants of planet earth but I'll do my best to meet as many people as I can. I'm really easygoing and open minded so if you have some interesting things to tell me about you, your life and your country and if you have sense of humour we will sure get along !

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I was a quite active member of the Paris CS community, I organize some cinema club nights in Lyon. Now that I don't live in a studio anymore I will try to host more people !

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I think that couchsurfing is a FANTASTIC invention ! It's a great way to meet new people and new friends all over the world, I really think that visiting a country without getting to know the people who live here is a pity.

As a host :

In Paris

Mari-Liis : Estonia Stephen : US/Texas Mathieu : Belgium Korkut : Turkey Diana : Philippines Natasha : US/New Mexico Ivette : Netherlands Louis : US/Pennsylvania

In Lyon

Thomas : England Aaron and Aileen : US/Florida and California Robert : Germany Rike : Germany Sergei&Ying Ying : US/California Madita and Oli : Germany

As a surfer :

Jaqi and Anton : Berlin Carolin : Stuttgart Barbara : Munich Sophie : Lyon Monique : Vienne Evelyne : Anjou Celie and Hubert : St Vallier Maelle and Florian : Tournon sur Rhône Clémence : Valence Aurelien : Le Pouzin Agnes et Roland : Montélimar Julie et Benoit : Pierrelatte Cécile : Pont St Esprit Clément : Orange Denis : Carpentras Rike : Nuremberg Adriana and Falko : Dresden Johannes and Pauline : Potsdam Jaqi : Berlin Gianluca and Joniada : Padova Gabriella : Berlin

Are you gonna be the next on the list ?

Interests

Music like I said above, photography, cooking, eating, the smeel of coffee and the sound of the birds to wake me up, taking a nap with my cat on the grass, talking to people from foreign countries, reading books until late at night, football, poetry, poker, litterature, cinema.... If you wanna know more about my interests I guess you'll just have to meet me, I'm sure we will find a topic to talk about !

Music, Movies & Books

Movies : Forrest Gump, Gran Torino, The Lord of The Rings, Help, Big Fish, Across the Universe, The Big Lebowski, Moonrise Kingdom, Rushmore, The Royal Tennenbaums, Match Point, Whatever Works, Midnight in Paris, When Harry Met Sally, Into the wild, Saturday Night Fever, Carlito's way, Baraka..

Series (big fan of series also !!) : FRIENDS !!!!, How I Met Your Mother, The Big Bang Theory, The Shield, Breaking Bad, 24, Prison Break, Desperate Housewives, Dexter, Community, Homeland...

Music: Beatles, Paul McCartney, Oasis, Billy Joel, Adele, The Beach Boys, Elvis Presley, Coldplay, Pink Floyd, The Alan Parson's Project, Noel Gallagher, Les Cowboys Fringants, Elton John, The Eagles, Keane, Kaiser Chiefs, Buena Vista Social Club, Frank Sinatra, Walk Off The Earth, Beethoven, Mozart, Bach, and old french stuff !

Books : The Count Monte Christo, The Three Musketeers, L'ecume des jours, Bilbo the Hobbit, The pillars of earth, The Power of Now, Africa Trek, and a lot of travel books !

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Exploring alone a morgue in the basement of an abandonned anatomy university in Berlin, very creepy !

A trek from Lyon to Avignon (250 km) in April 2013 by foot, only using couchsurfing!

Ran a half marathon (21,1km) in october 2013

Hitch-Hiking from Lyon all the way until Prague and Berlin (Summer 2013)

Backpacking alone across Italy for 2 weeks when I was 17, such a fantastic memory !

Doing a 250km travel in 3 days on a bike with my uncle when I was 10 years old

Waited over 10 hours to be in the first rows for a Paul McCartney gig (several times)!

Resolving a 4x4x4 Rubiks cube, true story !

Exploring the forbidden catacombs in Paris !

visited 13 states (5.77%)Create your own visited map of The World or Like this? try: Fridge Poetry

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell you a lot about the history of my country, about music, about cooking, about politics... I'd like to learn how people live in foreign countries, have different point of view on the way of living....

I can also teach you how to solve a rubik's cube !

I'd like to know more about meditation and yoga, if you have some knowledge or advice on either of these disciplins, I'd love to hear about it

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

France

Join Couchsurfing to see Victor's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile