Madara's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Madara’s full profile.

Overview

  • 19 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Latvian; learning Finnish, Russian
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • Environmental Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Currently more or less settled (for a while) able to host, meet up :)

I always love a good adventure. So if you want to visit an abandoned mansion, count me in. Or go for a hiking trip count me in.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Social
It is like practicing trust in society and regaining some faith in it, perhaps?
I travel quite a lot and its just nicer to be someones guest not a hotel guest.
Economic
I am usually on a budget travel and paying too much for hotels or hostels does not always make sense to me.

When I accept a request or you are on the receiving end, I would like to discuss about what is the situation and reason for stay, so we both are on same page about what kind of plans and expectations we have. Sometimes I can just offer my sofa but I am busy running errands etc., but sometimes I can take you for a hiking trip or give a tour.

Interests

Why are we here and what are we doing?

Too many interests. Still figuring out in which ones I should be investing more time and which ones should I be dropping.

  • books
  • photography
  • sprinting
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • sports
  • engineering
  • mountains
  • foraging

Music, Movies, and Books

Cloud Atlas

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walked 70 kilometers along the Gufl of Riga with a 20 kg on my back. Spent night in a forest in a military tent when it was 20 degrees below zero. Participated in several World and European canoe sprint championships and competed with the best athletes. Walked up to Pyrenees mountains when I was 14, that's where my mountain love started.

Losing my ego is a big one. Still in working progress.

Reaching state where I'm not so attached to life and societal constructions and restraints.

Accepting my past and moving forward. Looking into the darkness and then following the light.

Gave up interest in material values. Up to some level.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach
I can teach how to kayak more efficiently.

Learn
I am usually up to learn anything new.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook a dinner, don't hesitate to ask about it. Burgers (also vegan version can be improvised).
A long rant about different languages.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Montenegro, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Ireland, Latvia

Join Couchsurfing to see Madara’s full profile.

My Groups