London, London, England

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maerii_Neil’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Japanese, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Market Researcher and IT Consultant
  • University degrees
  • From London
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me




Hi there! We're a 'Friendly! Approachable! Open-minded! Fun! Charismatic! And talkative couple who have been together for 4 years. We are both very out going and love to meet new people. Don't worry...I know what you're thinking....we're one of 'those' couples. No. We don't need to do everything together, we don't fight. Instead we laugh, joke, learn and do a lot of eating! And no, I don't mean we will eat all your food either. I mean we appreciate good food, good wine and general socialising of all sorts.

At the moment we live in London, but will be embarking on backpacking trip in August. That's right! It's been on the cards for a while but we're finally in the position to leave our jobs and see the big bad world!

Neil has already been on a 3-year backpacking round the world trip (when he was a spring chicken) and I have only seen a few snapshots.

We're new to couchsurfing though we have lots of friends that are experienced couchsurfers and hosts. We are very much looking forward to our new adventure!

Look forward to meeting you and learning more about where you live and your culture!


We're both firm believers in what goes around comes around. Being kind is human nature and we would love to meet more likeminded people! We love the simple things in life, the complex things, the fun things! It's what you make of it. Life is definitely worth living and we hope you think so too.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


When we return from travelling no doubt we will be hosts, but at the moment we are looking for any free couches!


We are newbies to couchsurfing - but have a few experienced friends. When we figure out how to navigate around this website we can add them!! We're embarking on a big travel trip around Asia and are looking to CS our way around! :-)


Food. Culture. Photography. Art. Cold beer. Capoeira. Pole dancing. Salsa. Music. Guitars. Comedy. Movies. Theatre. Pianos. Coffee. Curry. Yoga. Spirituality. Oceans. Trash TV. Karaoke. Beaches. Books. Picnics.

The capoeira, pole dancing and salsa is me (Maerii) Neil doesn't really partake in those hobbies! Huh Huh Huh. However he is an awesome bass guitarist having been in bands all his life and has an awesome set of vocal chords. If there is a karaoke bar somewhere....he will be there belting out Frank Sinatra!! As for me, please don't let me near a microphone....

And most importantly meeting new friends!!

Music, Movies, and Books

Gosh...probably a bit too much to list here! But we both love reading - whether it's horror (that'll be Neil) or Sci Fi or Psychology. We love movies too, comedies, action, horror (again Neil), romance! Music tastes are also very varied. Neil is in a band and plays the bass and sings. I'm unfortunately not gifted in the vocal chords and only played piano many moons ago but we both love live music. Both big rock and indie fans and love festivals, but we also love all types of music around the world.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Maerii: Fencing angry monkeys in the darkest depths of the Drakensburg

Neil: Watching wild dolphins and killer whales playing alongside our boat in the Indian Ocean at sunset

Teach, Learn, Share

We both love learning new things! We would gladly help teach English if you would like us to practice with you. We also love learning about new cultures and traditions too, meeting new people from different backgrounds is always a fascinating experience.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Canada, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, Eritrea, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lesotho, Malaysia, Maldives, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Philippines, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Yemen

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand, South Africa

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Maerii_Neil’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups