Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 26 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Magnús Elvar’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 26 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Icelandic; learning Norwegian Bokmål
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Freelance Graphic Designer | Photographer | Illustrator
  • MA in Design
  • From Borgarnes, West, Iceland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm 28 year old Icelander, living in Oslo, Norway. I'm a pretty active person who likes to experience new things, watch interesting films, photograph people, draw and travel.

**Short bio**
I grew up in Borgarnes, a small town in west Iceland. When I was 16, I went as an exchange student to Czech Republic and grew up some more. There I met awesome people and did awesome things that changed my life. After a year in CZ I returned to Iceland and started high school majoring in Multimedia Design. After graduating I got into the Iceland Academy of the Arts and grew up a bit more, went to China to study Shaolin Kung Fu for a few months. I got a job as a designer for an interactive design firm called Gagarin and took my MA in design.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been on CS since 2008 because I love meeting new interesting people from all over the world. Through the years on CS I've meet people that have become really good friends. What a great platform.

Interests

Photography, films, illustration, design, foosball (table soccer/kicker) and of course traveling.

  • arts
  • design
  • photography
  • illustrations
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • drawing
  • soccer

Music, Movies, and Books

This one is alway a hard one. I'll name a few that I like.

--Films--
Kunsten at græde i kor, Das Leben der Anderen and Le Scaphandre et le papillon.

--Music--
Dolly Parton, Arvo Part, Wayne Shorter, The Brian Jonestown Massacre...

--Books--
Signs and Symbols: Their Design and Meaning

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Learned Shaolin Kung Fu in China.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some basic photography and basic ukulele playing.

Learn: I would like to hear people views on life and photography.

Share: I would love to do some project with a fellow CS.

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Cuba, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Czech Republic, Iceland, Norway

Join Couchsurfing to see Magnús Elvar’s full profile. It’s free!