Magnus Simonsson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Magnus’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 552 References 397 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning German
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Secretary general for a political campaigning group
  • Political science, economics, law
  • From Grundsund, Västra Götaland County, Sweden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please read my profile before sending me or my husband ( a request. We host preferably during weekends so that we can enjoy the company of guests and do things together, but you are welcome to visit us during the week as well. Here you can read about how to write a good couch request:

I like to travel and to meet people. I have travelled a lot and I have friends in many countries. I'm open minded, politically involved (left liberal), and I have been a vegetarian for 20 years.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I try to participate the best way I can. Hosting and surfing. Organizing events in Stockholm. Having fun together with all nice Couchsurfers I meet!

I have had a really good time hosting many travelers in Stockholm. My husband and I have hosted 555 persons (October 2017) since we joined in 2007.

April 1st 2008 I was interviewed about Couchsurfing in Aftonbladet (the main newspaper in Sweden):

Since I became a member I have couchsurfed in Edinburgh, Vilnius, Kaunas, Sardinia, Valencia, Buenos Aires, Santiago, Valparaíso, Posadas, Montevideo, Hamburg, Istanbul, Kiruna, Örebro, Vienna, Zürich, Geneva, Oslo, Narvik, Cape Town, Hartenbos, Plettenberg Bay, Hogsback, Pretoria, Akureyri, Kiev, London, Oradea, Cluj-Napoca, Sibiu, Bucharest, Edirne, Barcelona, Grecia, Panama City, Yerevan, Tbilisi, Ljubljana, Trieste, Singapore, Sydney, Katoomba, Auckland, Rotorua, Wellington, Queenstown, Guernsey, Jersey, Budapest, Chișinău, Bender, Odessa, Sevastopol, Minsk, Pristina, Managua, San Salvador, Antigua (Guatemala), Douglas (Isle of Man), Belfast, Puerto del Rosario (Fuerteventura), Amsterdam, Siauliai, Riga, Kuressaare, Pilsen, Brno, Aberystwyth (Wales), Hong Kong, Manila, Dubuque (Iowa), Cedar Rapids (Iowa), Palma de Mallorca, Rissa (Norway), Quebec City, Gdańsk, Homestead (Florida), Miami Beach, Pompano Beach (Fort Lauderdale), Taichung, Loule, Braga, Porto, Coimbra and Sonoma. It has been great fun!


Friends. I spend a lot of time together with my friends - playing board games, watching movies, having dinners...

Travels. To travel is one of my favourite interests. I have been to more than 85 countries and I like meeting new people.

Politics. I try to make the world a better place - it's almost a full time job. :-)

History. I have always been interested in old times - and I like going to museums.

  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • sauna
  • politics
  • board games
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • canoeing
  • history
  • meeting new people

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: ABBA, Madonna, Veronica Maggio, Robyn... I listen mostly to happy bubbly pop, also known as schlager.
Movies: Pulp Fiction, Star Wars, Rear Window, L.A. Confidential...
Books: I mostly read newspapers and political magazines.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have been to more than 85 countries. To hike in the Grand Canyon was great. The same counts for seeing the pyramids. And I enjoyed scuba diving with dolphins in the Red Sea.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm very much involved in politics and can tell you a lot about how things work in Sweden.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like to spend time together with my hosts, and get to know their way of living.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Guernsey, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jersey, Jordan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Palestine, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Wales, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Sweden

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    84 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Magnus’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups