Mahmut Kisa's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mahmut’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Turkish; learning English, German
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Teacher
  • Licence / Selçuk University Konya
  • From Istanbul, İstanbul, Turkey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello, I'm Mahmut, I am Turk, very open and friendly. I live with my wife Nalan and our 4 children. We like meeting new friends, travelling, eating, cooking (esp my wife's best Turkish recipes) and enjoying new experiences. I love to discover and learn.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm interested in most things, and enjoy travelling and meeting new people from different cultures, and that is why I want to be a couchsurfing host - it's like travelling without leaving home. I couchsurfed last year with a friend and it was the best holiday I have been on to date! meeting new friendly people willing to open their doors to you is wonderful!

Interests

I am very interested in the following areas;

* Travelling – next on the list is Machu Picchu (Peru), Cuba, Barbados.
* Social justice and empowerment.
* Learning - reading books and attempting to learn Spanish.
* Sport - Football (Celtic FC), Rugby, Boxing, Running.
* Bikram Yoga.
* Politics.
* Business & Economics.
* Cinema & Film.
* Fun & Laughter
I love to share meals to cook as well as eat. I always like to try and discover new dishes and taste the local food. I play the guitar and drums and love listening to live music. I also like to meet people from different cultures and countries to share and swap stories and laughter. I like football (my team is Sampdoria!) and sport. My girlfriend works in the theatre and she loves all art forms especailly dance and drama.

  • arts
  • books
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • yoga
  • running
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • live music
  • guitar
  • drums
  • sports
  • boxing
  • soccer
  • rugby
  • business
  • economics
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy listening to many forms of music including rock, soft rock, indie, jazz, swing and regge. I like action films and films which make me laugh, recently I enjoyed the Hunger Games. I love to read books with a twist, a gripping story that teaches me more about this wonderful world we live in.
Kasabian, Laura Mvula, The Charlatans, Rolling Stones , Leonard Cohen, King Creosote, Dave Brubeck, David Bowie, Fleet Foxes, Laura Marling, Squeeze etc etc
MUSIC: The Beatles, Radiohead, Muse, Flaming Lips, Arcade Fire, Elbow, The Strokes, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Blur, Air, Lemon Jelly, Mr Scruff, Sigur Ros, Foo Fighters, Pink Floyd, Beck, The White Stripes, Flight of the Conchords.
(Here's what i'm listening to.. http://www.last.fm/user/SirNeilGlen )

FILM: Forrest Gump, Inception, Darjeeling Limited, Date Night, Napoleon Dynamite, Big Fish, Interstellar, Nightmare Before Christmas, Donnie Darko, Anchorman, Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory, Spirited Away, Big Hero 6, Inside Out. (Anything by Wes Anderson, Nolan, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Coen Bros)

BOOKS: 1984, Kite Runner. A Thousand Splendid Suns. And The Mountains Echoed. Harry Potter 1-7. To Kill A Mockingbird, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Catcher In The Rye. Lord of the Rings. The Inheritance Of Loss. Life of Pi. Children Of Hope (My Mum's book!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Guidance to places and good company :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn and share languages, I speak English and Germany but I am also learning Spanish, I have learnt a few phrases in Russian, Hebrew and Arabic. My wife Nalan also teaches children English using theatre, games and story telling. She is excellent with children and enjoys meeting new children and learning from them, so much can be learnt from children.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A smile, an open mind, sharing stories, food and laughter. I love to cook for people and help in anyway I can!

Countries I’ve Visited

Greece, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Mahmut’s full profile. It’s free!