Mailys Duret's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mailys’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Materials Engineer
  • Materials Engineer
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I am French, from the Alps. I have started to live abroad for my studies, in Canada.
Later, I got my first job in Belgium, a country that I love now, so much that I took the Belgium nationality.
In Oct 2012, I made a break and went around Australia for 1 year.
In May 2022, after 8 years of a "quiet" life in South of Belgium, I am back on the road in South America.

My friends are envious because they think I am never stressed. But yes I am, not having enough time in my life to do all the things I would like to do.

PHILOSOPHY

Enjoy the present time and catch the opportunities when they are there

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am more looking to meet locals or other travelers rather than be hosted.

Couchsurfing is not a solution like hotel. We share a house. Social basic cares are appreciated. Moreover, the most important is sharing time together.

I cannot host at the moment as I am traveling

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I started Couchsurfing as a couchsurfer in Australia in 2012.
Then, in Virton in Belgium, I had a quite a big flat, so I had the chance to host few travelers who dare visiting La Gaume.

Interests

Practice sports as a recreation (no competition) (ex: rowing, horseriding, skiing, snowboarding, hiking, scuba diving) and I like discovering new sports and activities
Theatre
I am intersting in History, history of a country or an area. I visit any museum linked to historical events.
Spend time with friends or new people I have just met (have a drink at a sunny terrasse, go for a walk and pic-nic, etc)
Go to the outdoor market
Try new food

'there is no meaningful order in this list'

  • dining
  • drinking
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rowing
  • history
  • mountains
  • museum
  • english language

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't go so much at the cinema. I don't like science fiction and horror movies. If I decide to watch a movie, I would more likely pick one based on true stories, or true facts.
Sometimes I read in the bus. Currently, I don't take the bus...
Not too much into music. I like listening music, almost all kind but i don't pay attention to who is the singer or what is the title of the song. So I am very bad for the game "blind test". Nevertheless I like discovering new artists during a concert or festivals.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- I have met a big leopard shark (although I know that the diving mask makes the things bigger) when I was snorkelling in the pacifc ocean in New Caledonia
- I have seen the mythical fire ball falling down between the trees when I was hicking in a dark forest just me and my dog.
- I got lost in the Blue Mountains in Australia and the guys from the forestfire department came to pick us up.
- I tried sky diving in Dubai. I have the video!

What I Can Share with Hosts

If I host someone or if someone host me, I want to take time to exchange with the person. It can be the time of a beer, the time of a meal, or going for an activity together.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Martinique, Mexico, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Mailys’s full profile.

My Groups