Maitagorri Schade

Berkeley, CA, USA

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maitagorri’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, German; learning Basque, French, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Graduate student in urban planning
  • Much too much.
  • From Langenberg, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Never to become a boring person.


I love living in new places. I love learning new tricks.
I like my food fermented and communal.
When I don't try to revolutionize transportation, I eat apples, play music and fight a lot.


Curiosity is my highest value.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am hosting people wherever I can, and also try to get to know many different people by just meeting up with them and having some coffee. I'm always looking for new experiences, to teach and to learn.


I've surfed in remote places in Africa and Canadian cities, and hosted a little here and there -- the best thing are always the people you meet along the way.


Transportation. Cooperatives. Music. Capoeira. Singing. Reading. Writing. Cycling. Running. Fermentation.

Music, Movies, and Books

Infinite Jest. The Brothers Karamazov. The Picture of Dorian Gray.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lived in foreign countries. It's beautiful and challenging at the same time, and intensely rewarding. Making it past the three-month mark of being in a foreign country without knowing anyone to start with, realizing that another place is becoming home.

Teach, Learn, Share

Things I know: Cooking, baking German pastries. Beginners' Quantum Physics. Knitting socks. Playing some chords on the Guitar. Speaking German and English well enough to be able to teach you a couple of words.

Things I want to learn: Portuguese. More Spanish, more French. Writing songs. Playing the banjo.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook for you, bake for you, and my housemates say my massages are pretty good, too :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Botswana, Chile, England, France, Italy, Mexico, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, South Africa, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Maitagorri’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups